or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Tax Reform

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 10%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 5%
Todd Akin 95%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 95%
Rodney Alexander 40%
Wayne Allard 95%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 5%
Joe Baca, Sr. 15%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 95%
Brian Baird 10%
Richard Hugh Baker 90%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 5%
Cass Ballenger 90%
J. Gresham Barrett 95%
Roscoe Bartlett 85%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
Charlie Bass 85%
Max Baucus 25%
Evan Bayh 25%
Bob Beauprez 95%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
Chris Bell 20%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 63%
Shelley Berkley 15%
Howard Berman 5%
Marion Berry 35%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 5%
Judy Biggert 80%
Michael Bilirakis 90%
Jeff Bingaman 5%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 95%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 5%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 10%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 95%
Sherwood Boehlert 55%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 95%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 90%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 90%
Mary Bono Mack 90%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 90%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Rick Boucher 25%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 40%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 5%
John Breaux 35%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 10%
Henry Brown, Jr. 90%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ginny Brown-Waite 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 95%
Conrad Burns 100%
Max Burns 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 85%
Dan Burton 95%
Steve Buyer 75%
Robert Byrd 10%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 90%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 95%
Ben Campbell 95%
Chris Cannon 95%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 95%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 5%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 5%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 5%
Dennis Cardoza 35%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Brad Carson 40%
Julia Carson 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
Edward Case 20%
Mike Castle 50%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 35%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 95%
Chris Chocola 95%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 10%
Hillary Clinton 5%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 90%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 90%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 90%
Norm Coleman 95%
Michael Collins 95%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 65%
Kent Conrad 15%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 20%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 20%
Christopher Cox 95%
Larry Craig 95%
Robert Cramer 50%
Philip Crane 95%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 95%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 90%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 10%
Barbara Cubin 85%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 90%
Thomas Daschle 5%
Artur Davis 20%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 10%
Jo Ann Davis 95%
Lincoln Davis 45%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 5%
Thomas Davis III 75%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 5%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 5%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 5%
Thomas DeLay 95%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 5%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 85%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 80%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 95%
Norm Dicks 10%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 5%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 5%
Elizabeth Dole 95%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 95%
Calvin Dooley 50%
John Doolittle 85%
Byron Dorgan 10%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 5%
David Dreier 85%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 90%
Jennifer Dunn 90%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 5%
John Edwards 0%
Chet Edwards 40%
Vern Ehlers 70%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 10%
Jo Ann Emerson 90%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 70%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 95%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 5%
Bob Etheridge 15%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 90%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 10%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 90%
Russ Feingold 5%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 5%
Michael Ferguson 80%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 95%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 95%
Mark Foley 85%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 95%
Harold Ford, Jr. 35%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 80%
Barney Frank 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 80%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 5%
Elton Gallegly 85%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 0%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 80%
Jim Gibbons 85%
Wayne Gilchrest 75%
Paul Gillmor 80%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 95%
Charlie Gonzalez 10%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Bart Gordon 35%
Porter Goss 85%
Daniel Graham 5%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 90%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 85%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top