or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Environment California

2009 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 10%
Anthony Adams 15%
Elaine Alquist 90%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 0%
Juan Arambula 69%
Roy Ashburn 10%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 77%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 10%
Bill Berryhill 8%
CA State Senate 14 Thomas Berryhill Republican 8%
Sam Blakeslee 38%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 91%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 92%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 83%
Anna Caballero 69%
Charles Calderon 54%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 70%
Amina Carter 85%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 0%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 8%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 30%
Joe Coto 92%
Dave Cox 10%
Mike Davis 85%
Hector De La Torre 85%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
Charles DeVore 0%
Denise Ducheny 80%
Robert Dutton 10%
Michael Duvall 0%
Bill Emmerson 8%
Mike Eng 92%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 92%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 8%
Dean Florez 100%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 58%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 0%
Warren Furutani 69%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 0%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 62%
Martin Garrick 0%
Danny Gilmore 8%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 0%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 62%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 90%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 0%
Tom Harman 20%
Mary Hayashi 85%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 69%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 92%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
Alyson Huber 46%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 0%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 77%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 70%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 92%
Fiona Ma 85%
Abel Maldonado 50%
Tony Mendoza 62%
Jeff Miller 0%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 92%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 40%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 8%
Roger Niello 0%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 0%
Jenny Oropeza 80%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 85%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 62%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 92%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 89%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 10%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 92%
Lori Saldaña 92%
Jim Silva 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 100%
Cameron Smyth 8%
Jose Solorio 46%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 70%
Tony Strickland 30%
Audra Strickland 15%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 69%
Alberto Torrico 85%
Van Tran 0%
Mike Villines 8%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 10%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 20%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top