Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Environment California

2009 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 100%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Nancy Skinner 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
Leland Yee 100%
Tom Ammiano 92%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield 92%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 92%
Joe Coto 92%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 92%
Mike Eng 92%
Noreen Evans 92%
Paul Fong 92%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 92%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 92%
Bonnie Lowenthal 92%
Pedro Nava 92%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 92%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 92%
Lori Saldaña 92%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 92%
Mariko Yamada 92%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 91%
Elaine Alquist 90%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 90%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 90%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 89%
Amina Carter 85%
Mike Davis 85%
Hector De La Torre 85%
Mary Hayashi 85%
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma Democratic 85%
John Pérez 85%
Alberto Torrico 85%
Joan Buchanan 83%
Denise Ducheny 80%
Jenny Oropeza 80%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 77%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 77%
Ron Calderon 70%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 70%
Darrell Steinberg 70%
Juan Arambula 69%
Anna Caballero 69%
Warren Furutani 69%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 69%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 69%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 62%
CA State Senate 35 Isadore Hall III Democratic 62%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 62%
Manuel Pérez 62%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 58%
Charles Calderon 54%
Abel Maldonado 50%
Alyson Huber 46%
Jose Solorio 46%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 40%
Sam Blakeslee 38%
Lou Correa 30%
Tony Strickland 30%
Tom Harman 20%
Roderick Wright 20%
Anthony Adams 15%
Audra Strickland 15%
Samuel Aanestad 10%
Roy Ashburn 10%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 10%
Dave Cox 10%
Robert Dutton 10%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 10%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 10%
Mark Wyland 10%
Bill Berryhill 8%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 8%
Connie Conway 8%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 8%
Bill Emmerson 8%
Nathan Fletcher 8%
Danny Gilmore 8%
Brian Nestande 8%
Cameron Smyth 8%
Mike Villines 8%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 0%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill 0%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
Charles DeVore 0%
Michael Duvall 0%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 0%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 0%
Martin Garrick 0%
CA Supervisor 4 Curt Hagman 0%
CA State Board of Equalization Diane Harkey Republican 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 0%
CA U.S. House 25 Steve Knight Republican 0%
Dan Logue 0%
Jeff Miller 0%
Roger Niello 0%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 0%
Jim Silva 0%
Van Tran 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top