Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Arab American Institute

2007-2008 Positions on Arab American Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 9 Jerry McNerney Democratic 40%
Charlie Melancon, Sr. 40%
Zach Wamp 40%
Rodney Alexander 33%
Joe Baca, Sr. 33%
Max Baucus 33%
Melissa Bean 33%
Tim Bishop 33%
Nancy Boyda 33%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 33%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 33%
Jerry Costello 33%
Geoff Davis 33%
Chet Edwards 33%
Philip English 33%
Bob Etheridge 33%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 33%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 33%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 33%
Jane Harman 33%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 33%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 33%
Tim Johnson 33%
Steve Kagen 33%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 33%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 33%
Dick Lugar 33%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 33%
Mike McIntyre 33%
Patrick Murphy 33%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 33%
CO U.S. House 7 Ed Perlmutter Democratic 33%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 33%
Earl Pomeroy 33%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 33%
Mike Ross 33%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 33%
John Salazar 33%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 33%
Ike Skelton 33%
Gordon Smith 33%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 33%
Tom Tancredo 33%
Ellen Tauscher 33%
Gene Taylor 33%
Anthony Weiner 33%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 33%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 33%
KY U.S. House 3 John Yarmuth Democratic 33%
Shelley Berkley 25%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 25%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 25%
Dan Burton 25%
Steve Buyer 25%
Mike Castle 25%
Ben Chandler III 25%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 25%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 25%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 25%
Brad Ellsworth 25%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 25%
Michael Ferguson 25%
Gabrielle Giffords 25%
Bart Gordon 25%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 25%
Ron Klein 25%
John Kuhl, Jr. 25%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 25%
Tim Mahoney 25%
Jim Marshall 25%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 25%
Harry Mitchell 25%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 25%
Adam Putnam 25%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 25%
Zack Space 25%
Bart Stupak 25%
John Sununu 25%
John Tanner 25%
Mark Udall 25%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 25%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 25%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 20%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 20%
Timothy Johnson 20%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 20%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 20%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 20%
Olympia Snowe 20%
George Voinovich 20%
Joe Lieberman 17%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Todd Akin 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Wayne Allard 0%
Michele Bachmann 0%
Spencer Bachus 0%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 0%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Evan Bayh 0%
Bob Bennett 0%
Judy Biggert 0%
Brian Bilbray 0%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 0%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
John Boehner 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
Dan Boren 0%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
Paul Broun 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 0%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
Dave Camp 0%
John Campbell III 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
Eric Cantor 0%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 0%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Donald Cazayoux, Jr. 0%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
Saxby Chambliss 0%
Travis Childers 0%
Thomas Coburn 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 0%
Kent Conrad 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 0%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 0%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 0%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
David Davis 0%
Lincoln Davis 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 0%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 0%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 0%
Thelma Drake 0%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 0%
Vern Ehlers 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 0%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
Terry Everett 0%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 0%
Tom Feeney 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 0%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 0%
Elton Gallegly 0%
Jim Gerlach 0%
Phil Gingrey 0%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 0%
Judd Gregg 0%
Ralph Hall 0%
Doc Hastings 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
NV U.S. Senate Jr Dean Heller Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
David Lee Hobson 0%
Pete Hoekstra 0%
Thomas Holden 0%
Kenny Hulshof 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top