or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Key Votes

S 1936 - Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1996 - Key Vote

National Key Votes

Mitch McConnell voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Mitch McConnell made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Referred to Committee (House) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (63-37) - (Key vote)

Title: Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1996

Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that establishes locations for storage and disposal facilities for spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste.

  • Establishes an interim storage facility for nuclear waste near Yucca Mountain, Nevada until a permanent facility is developed.
  • Establishes a permanent storage facility for nuclear waste at Yucca Mountain, Nevada.
  • Allows the President to find an alternative interim site before January 1, 1999.
  • Starts the transfer of nuclear waste by truck and rail before November 30, 1999.
  • Requires the Secretary of Energy to use routes that minimize the transportation of nuclear waste through populated areas.
  • Authorizes the Environmental Protection Agency to establish standards for public protection.
  • Establishes the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management within the Department of Energy to oversee the bill's enactment.
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1996


  • Larry E. Craig (ID - R) (Out Of Office)


  • Edmond Spencer Abraham (MI - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James Merrill 'Jim' Jeffords (VT - I) (Out Of Office)
  • Dirk Kempthorne (ID - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon Kyl (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank H. Murkowski (AK - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles S. Robb (VA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Alan K. Simpson (WY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Clinton 'Bob' Smith (NH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Craig Thomas (WY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Strom Thurmond (SC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John William Warner (VA - R) (Out Of Office)
Back to top