Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Taxpayers Union

1997 Spending Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 56%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 79%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 57%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 58%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 32%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 26%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 36%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 31%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 21%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 28%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 30%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 61%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 28%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 17%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 54%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 26%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 24%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 58%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 17%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 23%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 23%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 49%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 36%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 71%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 52%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 84%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 44%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 30%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 32%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 26%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 30%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 23%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 29%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 62%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 33%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 33%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 67%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 44%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 57%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 46%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 16%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 59%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 25%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 27%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 47%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 34%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 31%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 32%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 36%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 31%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 36%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 37%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 56%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 74%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 16%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 67%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 81%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 52%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 34%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 28%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 40%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 40%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 12%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 65%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 19%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 54%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 64%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 51%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 64%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 24%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 18%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 42%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 26%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 29%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 14%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 32%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 42%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 84%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 43%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 81%
Neil Abercrombie 23%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 80%
Gary Ackerman 27%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 12%
Wayne Allard 81%
Thomas Allen 28%
Rob Andrews 38%
Bill Archer 55%
Richard Armey 60%
John Ashcroft 85%
Spencer Bachus 57%
Henry Scott Baesler 28%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 84%
Richard Hugh Baker 47%
Cass Ballenger 58%
James Barcia 39%
Bob Barr, Jr. 72%
Bill Barrett 47%
Roscoe Bartlett 64%
Joe Barton 61%
Charlie Bass 62%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 39%
Max Baucus 48%
Bob Bennett 69%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 29%
Douglas Bereuter 44%
Howard Berman 27%
Marion Berry 34%
Joe Biden, Jr. 34%
Brian Bilbray 53%
Michael Bilirakis 48%
Jeff Bingaman 23%
Rod Blagojevich 29%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 51%
Sherwood Boehlert 40%
John Boehner 55%
Kit Bond 71%
Henry Bonilla 52%
David Edward Bonior 31%
Robert Borski, Jr. 15%
Leonard Boswell 34%
Rick Boucher 15%
Barbara Boxer 14%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 32%
John Breaux 46%
Corrine Brown 16%
George Brown, Jr. 21%
Sam Brownback 84%
Richard Bryan 48%
Ed Bryant 62%
Dale Bumpers 17%
Jim Bunning 49%
Conrad Burns 78%
Dan Burton 64%
Steve Buyer 53%
Robert Byrd 20%
Herbert Callahan 53%
Dave Camp 58%
Ben Campbell 72%
Thomas Campbell 69%
Chris Cannon 63%
Julia Carson 31%
Mike Castle 54%
John Chafee 59%
Saxby Chambliss 55%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 62%
Jon Lynn Christensen 63%
William Clay, Sr. 21%
Eva Clayton 22%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 28%
Robert Clement 31%
Dan Coats 78%
Howard Coble 66%
Thomas Coburn 69%
Thad Cochran 68%
Michael Collins 61%
Larry Combest 63%
Gary Condit 53%
Kent Conrad 31%
John Conyers, Jr. 27%
Merrill Cook 50%
John Cooksey 52%
Jerry Costello 31%
Paul Coverdell 77%
Christopher Cox 64%
William Coyne 26%
Larry Craig 82%
Robert Cramer 39%
Philip Crane 66%
Barbara Cubin 60%
Randall Cunningham 58%
Alfonse D'Amato 57%
Patsy Ann Danner 51%
Thomas Daschle 17%
James Davis 37%
Thomas Davis III 46%
Nathan Deal 62%
Bill Delahunt 27%
Thomas DeLay 55%
Peter Deutsch 35%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 44%
Jay Dickey 53%
Norm Dicks 27%
John Dingell 29%
Julian Dixon 14%
Chris Dodd 22%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 67%
Calvin Dooley 39%
John Doolittle 61%
Byron Dorgan 17%
David Dreier 54%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top