Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Taxpayers Union

1998 Spending Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 48%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 64%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 46%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 31%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 49%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 19%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 16%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 21%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 53%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 13%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 28%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 53%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 22%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 29%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 56%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 51%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 20%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 20%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 50%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 17%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 56%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 55%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 63%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 46%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 16%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 27%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 22%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 14%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 53%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 13%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 14%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 51%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 28%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 54%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 53%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 12%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 75%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 18%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 14%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 48%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 21%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 14%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 18%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 52%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 18%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 19%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 13%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 18%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 34%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 73%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 82%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 18%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 49%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 74%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 55%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 21%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 23%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 31%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 15%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 10%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 72%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 13%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 48%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 49%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 69%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 14%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 28%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 21%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 13%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 29%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 40%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 87%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 42%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 70%
Neil Abercrombie 12%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 65%
Gary Ackerman 14%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 9%
Wayne Allard 74%
Thomas Allen 12%
Rob Andrews 27%
Bill Archer 65%
Richard Armey 55%
John Ashcroft 80%
Spencer Bachus 59%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 64%
Richard Hugh Baker 51%
Cass Ballenger 69%
James Barcia 24%
Bob Barr, Jr. 76%
Bill Barrett 61%
Roscoe Bartlett 66%
Joe Barton 75%
Charlie Bass 47%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 43%
Max Baucus 22%
Bob Bennett 50%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 27%
Douglas Bereuter 33%
Howard Berman 17%
Marion Berry 30%
Joe Biden, Jr. 15%
Brian Bilbray 52%
Michael Bilirakis 53%
Jeff Bingaman 14%
Rod Blagojevich 14%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 50%
Sherwood Boehlert 28%
John Boehner 66%
Kit Bond 53%
Henry Bonilla 66%
David Edward Bonior 16%
Mary Bono Mack 53%
Robert Borski, Jr. 13%
Leonard Boswell 23%
Rick Boucher 13%
Barbara Boxer 14%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 28%
Bob Brady 20%
John Breaux 15%
Corrine Brown 12%
Sam Brownback 68%
Richard Bryan 13%
Ed Bryant 50%
Jim Bunning 46%
Conrad Burns 64%
Dan Burton 51%
Steve Buyer 45%
Robert Byrd 27%
Herbert Callahan 50%
Dave Camp 50%
Ben Campbell 54%
Thomas Campbell 68%
Chris Cannon 62%
Lois Capps 17%
Julia Carson 17%
Mike Castle 54%
John Chafee 36%
Saxby Chambliss 49%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 60%
William Clay, Sr. 12%
Eva Clayton 14%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 14%
Robert Clement 14%
Howard Coble 62%
Thomas Coburn 78%
Thad Cochran 57%
Michael Collins 61%
Larry Combest 52%
Gary Condit 49%
Kent Conrad 10%
John Conyers, Jr. 22%
Merrill Cook 48%
John Cooksey 48%
Jerry Costello 22%
Paul Coverdell 66%
Christopher Cox 75%
William Coyne 17%
Larry Craig 65%
Robert Cramer 30%
Philip Crane 83%
Barbara Cubin 63%
Randall Cunningham 54%
Patsy Ann Danner 34%
Thomas Daschle 12%
James Davis 22%
Thomas Davis III 41%
Nathan Deal 73%
Bill Delahunt 18%
Thomas DeLay 57%
Peter Deutsch 31%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 44%
Jay Dickey 51%
Norm Dicks 14%
John Dingell 12%
Julian Dixon 9%
Chris Dodd 15%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 58%
Calvin Dooley 25%
John Doolittle 55%
Byron Dorgan 12%
David Dreier 54%
John Duncan, Jr. 65%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top