Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2011 Positions on Regulation

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 5 Andy Biggs Republican 71%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 14%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 14%
AZ State House 3 Sally Ann Gonzales Democratic 0%
AZ State House 3 Macario Saldate IV Democratic 7%
AZ State House 6 Brenda Barton Republican 36%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 79%
AZ State House 13 Don Shooter Republican 36%
AZ State House 15 Heather Carter Republican 43%
AZ State House 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 36%
AZ State House 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 50%
AZ State House 24 Lela Alston Democratic 0%
AZ State Senate 1 Karen Fann Republican 43%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 8 Frank Pratt Republican 36%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 11 Steve Smith Republican 57%
AZ State Senate 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 14 Gail Griffin Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 36%
AZ State Senate 20 Kimberly Yee Republican 36%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 50%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 43%
AZ State Senate 24 Katie Hobbs Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 7%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 36%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 43%
AZ Supervisor 5 Steve Gallardo 14%
AZ Council Member At-Large David Schapira Democratic 7%
Ed Ableser 7%
Paula Aboud 7%
Kirk Adams 64%
Frank Antenori 43%
Ben Arredondo 0%
Cecil Ash 50%
Scott Bundgaard 71%
Chad Campbell 7%
Tom Chabin 0%
Steve Court 50%
Rich Crandall 36%
Chester Crandell 50%
Jeff Dial 50%
Adam Driggs 50%
John Fillmore 71%
Thomas Forese 64%
Doris Goodale 36%
Ron Gould 79%
David Gowan, Sr. 71%
Linda Gray 36%
Rick Gray 64%
Albert Hale 7%
Jack Harper 79%
Matthew Heinz 7%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 7%
Russ Jones 29%
Peggy Judd 36%
Lori Klein 64%
Leah Landrum Taylor 7%
Linda Lopez 7%
John McComish 36%
Debbie McCune Davis 0%
Kate McGee 29%
Nancy McLain 29%
Al Melvin 36%
Eric Meyer 7%
Rick Murphy 64%
John Nelson 50%
Justin Olson 64%
Lynne Pancrazi 7%
Daniel Patterson 0%
Russell Pearce 64%
Steve Pierce 57%
Terri Proud 64%
Amanda Reeve 36%
Bob Robson 36%
Carl Seel 79%
David Smith 71%
David Stevens 64%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 36%
Anna Tovar 7%
Steve Urie 50%
Ted Vogt 64%
Jim Weiers 43%
Bruce Wheeler 7%
Vic Williams 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top