Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Taxpayers for Common Sense

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 6%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 31%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 17%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 36%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 56%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 53%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 44%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 53%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 47%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 53%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 64%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 33%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 58%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 42%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 25%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 8%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 64%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 41%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 25%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 56%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 53%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 22%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 44%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 28%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 25%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 28%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 6%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 78%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 69%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 67%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 50%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 19%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 53%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 47%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 58%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 61%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 69%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 58%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 28%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 11%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 25%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 25%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 47%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 53%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 42%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 67%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 58%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 69%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 14%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 72%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 64%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 56%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 69%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 58%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 81%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 36%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 38%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 34%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 14%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 69%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 67%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 75%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 56%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 59%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 19%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 33%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 31%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 22%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 33%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 17%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 72%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 36%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 56%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 72%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 41%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 53%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 83%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 83%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 86%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 31%
Neil Abercrombie 44%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 38%
Gary Ackerman 33%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 31%
Wayne Allard 38%
Thomas Allen 61%
Rob Andrews 64%
Bill Archer 33%
Richard Armey 36%
John Ashcroft 44%
Spencer Bachus 31%
Henry Scott Baesler 19%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 41%
Richard Hugh Baker 8%
Cass Ballenger 28%
James Barcia 42%
Bob Barr, Jr. 42%
Bill Barrett 19%
Roscoe Bartlett 28%
Joe Barton 25%
Charlie Bass 58%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 6%
Max Baucus 31%
Bob Bennett 22%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 39%
Douglas Bereuter 28%
Howard Berman 42%
Marion Berry 36%
Joe Biden, Jr. 44%
Brian Bilbray 39%
Michael Bilirakis 31%
Jeff Bingaman 34%
Rod Blagojevich 67%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 25%
Sherwood Boehlert 31%
John Boehner 19%
Kit Bond 19%
Henry Bonilla 11%
David Edward Bonior 53%
Robert Borski, Jr. 44%
Leonard Boswell 36%
Rick Boucher 31%
Barbara Boxer 53%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 22%
John Breaux 28%
Corrine Brown 28%
George Brown, Jr. 44%
Sam Brownback 44%
Richard Bryan 56%
Ed Bryant 28%
Dale Bumpers 63%
Jim Bunning 11%
Conrad Burns 22%
Dan Burton 28%
Steve Buyer 14%
Robert Byrd 44%
Herbert Callahan 25%
Dave Camp 42%
Ben Campbell 25%
Thomas Campbell 75%
Chris Cannon 39%
Julia Carson 64%
Mike Castle 61%
John Chafee 44%
Saxby Chambliss 25%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 25%
Jon Lynn Christensen 47%
William Clay, Sr. 47%
Eva Clayton 44%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 28%
Robert Clement 36%
Dan Coats 50%
Howard Coble 56%
Thomas Coburn 44%
Thad Cochran 19%
Michael Collins 42%
Larry Combest 25%
Gary Condit 61%
Kent Conrad 50%
John Conyers, Jr. 64%
Merrill Cook 33%
John Cooksey 17%
Jerry Costello 58%
Paul Coverdell 22%
Christopher Cox 50%
William Coyne 61%
Larry Craig 34%
Robert Cramer 17%
Philip Crane 44%
Barbara Cubin 17%
Randall Cunningham 33%
Alfonse D'Amato 22%
Patsy Ann Danner 50%
Thomas Daschle 28%
James Davis 53%
Thomas Davis III 25%
Nathan Deal 36%
Bill Delahunt 67%
Thomas DeLay 31%
Peter Deutsch 44%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 17%
Jay Dickey 22%
Norm Dicks 25%
John Dingell 36%
Julian Dixon 25%
Chris Dodd 47%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 22%
Calvin Dooley 33%
John Doolittle 19%
Byron Dorgan 38%
David Dreier 22%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top