Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Taxpayers for Common Sense

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 15%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 20%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 21%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 35%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 48%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 47%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 69%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 56%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 56%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 47%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 15%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 56%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 44%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 62%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 29%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 50%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 62%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 26%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 32%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 56%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 40%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 24%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 36%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 59%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 59%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 18%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 24%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 21%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 24%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 18%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 47%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 56%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 53%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 62%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 53%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 47%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 32%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 50%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 47%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 48%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 18%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 15%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 44%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 26%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 44%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 53%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 56%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 56%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 21%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 48%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 56%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 62%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 59%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 41%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 56%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 82%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 56%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 76%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 50%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 24%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 40%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 18%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 62%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 68%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 44%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 48%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 38%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 44%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 18%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 32%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 41%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 35%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 74%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 41%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 52%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 62%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 44%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 65%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 85%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 74%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 88%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 44%
Neil Abercrombie 44%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 48%
Gary Ackerman 47%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 16%
Wayne Allard 40%
Thomas Allen 56%
Rob Andrews 71%
Bill Archer 35%
Richard Armey 24%
John Ashcroft 60%
Spencer Bachus 26%
Henry Scott Baesler 41%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 36%
Richard Hugh Baker 15%
Cass Ballenger 35%
James Barcia 35%
Bob Barr, Jr. 47%
Bill Barrett 24%
Roscoe Bartlett 38%
Joe Barton 32%
Charlie Bass 41%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 12%
Max Baucus 32%
Bob Bennett 24%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 53%
Douglas Bereuter 12%
Howard Berman 44%
Marion Berry 44%
Joe Biden, Jr. 36%
Brian Bilbray 53%
Michael Bilirakis 35%
Jeff Bingaman 40%
Rod Blagojevich 56%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 15%
Sherwood Boehlert 38%
John Boehner 21%
Kit Bond 28%
Henry Bonilla 24%
David Edward Bonior 53%
Mary Bono Mack 21%
Robert Borski, Jr. 50%
Leonard Boswell 29%
Rick Boucher 38%
Barbara Boxer 36%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 41%
Bob Brady 50%
John Breaux 28%
Corrine Brown 44%
George Brown, Jr. 44%
Sam Brownback 32%
Richard Bryan 48%
Ed Bryant 18%
Dale Bumpers 64%
Jim Bunning 18%
Conrad Burns 24%
Dan Burton 18%
Steve Buyer 18%
Robert Byrd 52%
Herbert Callahan 12%
Dave Camp 26%
Ben Campbell 24%
Thomas Campbell 74%
Chris Cannon 21%
Lois Capps 44%
Julia Carson 59%
Mike Castle 65%
John Chafee 32%
Saxby Chambliss 15%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 29%
Jon Lynn Christensen 44%
William Clay, Sr. 44%
Eva Clayton 50%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 36%
Robert Clement 32%
Dan Coats 44%
Howard Coble 35%
Thomas Coburn 47%
Thad Cochran 24%
Michael Collins 32%
Larry Combest 15%
Gary Condit 44%
Kent Conrad 40%
John Conyers, Jr. 53%
Merrill Cook 24%
John Cooksey 15%
Jerry Costello 62%
Paul Coverdell 24%
Christopher Cox 56%
William Coyne 56%
Larry Craig 32%
Robert Cramer 29%
Philip Crane 44%
Barbara Cubin 29%
Randall Cunningham 21%
Alfonse D'Amato 16%
Patsy Ann Danner 41%
Thomas Daschle 32%
James Davis 59%
Thomas Davis III 24%
Nathan Deal 41%
Bill Delahunt 56%
Thomas DeLay 15%
Peter Deutsch 62%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 21%
Jay Dickey 21%
Norm Dicks 44%
John Dingell 26%
Julian Dixon 38%
Chris Dodd 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top