Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

1998 Conservative on Defense/Foreign Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 68%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 58%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 93%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 83%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 21%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 27%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 2%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 2%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 62%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 5%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 5%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 73%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 19%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 18%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 83%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 48%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 5%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 71%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 2%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 16%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 75%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 31%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 75%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 75%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 58%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 68%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 16%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 5%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 31%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 5%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 58%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 19%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 29%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 51%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 51%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 83%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 53%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 31%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 81%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 31%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 37%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 58%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 40%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 42%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 48%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 2%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 19%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 31%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 36%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 31%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 23%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 53%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 75%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 47%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 58%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 88%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 83%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 14%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 45%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 42%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 27%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 11%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 68%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 62%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 23%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 23%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 23%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 23%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 31%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 21%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 5%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 11%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 58%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 52%
Neil Abercrombie 19%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 58%
Gary Ackerman 19%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 27%
Wayne Allard 75%
Thomas Allen 2%
Rob Andrews 44%
Bill Archer 62%
Richard Armey 73%
John Ashcroft 88%
Spencer Bachus 83%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 88%
Richard Hugh Baker 83%
Cass Ballenger 62%
James Barcia 58%
Bob Barr, Jr. 93%
Bill Barrett 51%
Roscoe Bartlett 93%
Joe Barton 83%
Charlie Bass 61%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 42%
Max Baucus 27%
Bob Bennett 36%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 11%
Douglas Bereuter 51%
Howard Berman 11%
Marion Berry 31%
Joe Biden, Jr. 21%
Brian Bilbray 62%
Michael Bilirakis 83%
Jeff Bingaman 35%
Rod Blagojevich 23%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 62%
Sherwood Boehlert 48%
John Boehner 51%
Kit Bond 88%
Henry Bonilla 75%
David Edward Bonior 25%
Mary Bono Mack 93%
Robert Borski, Jr. 11%
Leonard Boswell 45%
Rick Boucher 19%
Barbara Boxer 12%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 40%
Bob Brady 10%
John Breaux 36%
Corrine Brown 19%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Sam Brownback 75%
Richard Bryan 5%
Ed Bryant 83%
Conrad Burns 75%
Dan Burton 93%
Steve Buyer 58%
Robert Byrd 9%
Herbert Callahan 53%
Dave Camp 58%
Ben Campbell 36%
Thomas Campbell 45%
Chris Cannon 83%
Lois Capps 31%
Julia Carson 36%
Mike Castle 45%
John Chafee 36%
Saxby Chambliss 62%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 93%
William Clay, Sr. 30%
Eva Clayton 2%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 27%
Robert Clement 37%
Howard Coble 66%
Thomas Coburn 93%
Thad Cochran 58%
Michael Collins 75%
Larry Combest 83%
Gary Condit 53%
Kent Conrad 15%
John Conyers, Jr. 16%
Merrill Cook 83%
John Cooksey 83%
Jerry Costello 44%
Paul Coverdell 58%
Christopher Cox 67%
William Coyne 23%
Larry Craig 88%
Robert Cramer 42%
Philip Crane 74%
Barbara Cubin 93%
Randall Cunningham 82%
Patsy Ann Danner 58%
Thomas Daschle 15%
James Davis 23%
Thomas Davis III 48%
Nathan Deal 68%
Bill Delahunt 11%
Thomas DeLay 93%
Peter Deutsch 27%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 68%
Jay Dickey 83%
Norm Dicks 5%
John Dingell 4%
Julian Dixon 18%
Chris Dodd 27%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 56%
Calvin Dooley 5%
John Doolittle 93%
Byron Dorgan 15%
David Dreier 58%
John Duncan, Jr. 83%
Jennifer Dunn 53%
Chet Edwards 11%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top