Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

1998 Conservative on Economic Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 53%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 72%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 58%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 59%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 23%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 21%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 23%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 42%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 81%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 88%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 64%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 44%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 51%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 23%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 61%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 28%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 72%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 67%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 72%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 72%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 23%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 28%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 34%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 53%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 44%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 70%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 88%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 81%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 36%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 23%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 50%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 23%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 56%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 88%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 81%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 28%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 52%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 88%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 88%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 28%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 32%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 37%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 10%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 85%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 74%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 21%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 32%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 23%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 25%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 34%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 37%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 67%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 88%
Neil Abercrombie 0%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 69%
Gary Ackerman 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 72%
Thomas Allen 23%
Rob Andrews 36%
Bill Archer 88%
Richard Armey 88%
John Ashcroft 88%
Spencer Bachus 81%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 82%
Richard Hugh Baker 88%
Cass Ballenger 78%
James Barcia 34%
Bob Barr, Jr. 64%
Bill Barrett 61%
Roscoe Bartlett 85%
Joe Barton 88%
Charlie Bass 58%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 61%
Max Baucus 28%
Bob Bennett 57%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 32%
Douglas Bereuter 56%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 41%
Joe Biden, Jr. 35%
Brian Bilbray 54%
Michael Bilirakis 74%
Jeff Bingaman 28%
Rod Blagojevich 28%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 67%
Sherwood Boehlert 46%
John Boehner 88%
Kit Bond 56%
Henry Bonilla 72%
David Edward Bonior 0%
Mary Bono Mack 64%
Robert Borski, Jr. 23%
Leonard Boswell 43%
Rick Boucher 34%
Barbara Boxer 10%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 46%
Bob Brady 0%
John Breaux 42%
Corrine Brown 0%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Sam Brownback 85%
Richard Bryan 0%
Ed Bryant 88%
Conrad Burns 72%
Dan Burton 77%
Steve Buyer 64%
Robert Byrd 31%
Herbert Callahan 88%
Dave Camp 74%
Ben Campbell 57%
Thomas Campbell 49%
Chris Cannon 88%
Lois Capps 39%
Julia Carson 0%
Mike Castle 51%
John Chafee 48%
Saxby Chambliss 74%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 51%
William Clay, Sr. 0%
Eva Clayton 30%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 39%
Robert Clement 41%
Howard Coble 85%
Thomas Coburn 72%
Thad Cochran 63%
Michael Collins 88%
Larry Combest 88%
Gary Condit 47%
Kent Conrad 20%
John Conyers, Jr. 0%
Merrill Cook 85%
John Cooksey 88%
Jerry Costello 22%
Paul Coverdell 72%
Christopher Cox 88%
William Coyne 0%
Larry Craig 72%
Robert Cramer 46%
Philip Crane 81%
Barbara Cubin 81%
Randall Cunningham 78%
Patsy Ann Danner 48%
Thomas Daschle 10%
James Davis 41%
Thomas Davis III 59%
Nathan Deal 85%
Bill Delahunt 0%
Thomas DeLay 88%
Peter Deutsch 32%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 49%
Jay Dickey 88%
Norm Dicks 21%
John Dingell 23%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 10%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 55%
Calvin Dooley 39%
John Doolittle 85%
Byron Dorgan 20%
David Dreier 88%
John Duncan, Jr. 70%
Jennifer Dunn 79%
Chet Edwards 23%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top