Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Citizens for Participation in Political Action

1997-1998 Positions

Issues: Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 40%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 56%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 56%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 67%
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican 11%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 67%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 78%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 44%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 11%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 89%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 44%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 44%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 0%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 44%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 44%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 44%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 89%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 56%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 100%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 56%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 56%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 44%
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican 22%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 44%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 44%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 20%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 60%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 60%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 44%
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill 56%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic 67%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 44%
MA Councilor At-Large James Jajuga 40%
Steven Angelo 67%
Robert Antonioni 40%
Robert Bernstein 40%
Frederick Berry 20%
John Binienda, Sr. 44%
Daniel Bosley 56%
Stephen Brewer 40%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 22%
Christine Canavan 56%
Gale Candaras 56%
Paul Caron 67%
Paul Casey 56%
Evelyn Chesky 44%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 44%
Edward Clancy, Jr. 40%
Carol Cleven 44%
Edward Connolly 44%
Robert Correia 44%
Geraldine Creedon 56%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 60%
Brian Cresta 22%
Walter DeFilippi 11%
Paul Demakis 78%
Brian Dempsey 33%
Salvatore DiMasi 56%
David Donnelly 56%
Carol Donovan 56%
Christopher Fallon 44%
Susan Fargo 60%
Robert Fennell 44%
Barry Finegold 44%
Kevin Finnegan 11%
Thomas Finneran 56%
Kevin Fitzgerald 56%
Nancy Flavin 44%
Gloria Fox 89%
Barbara Gardner 56%
David Gately 78%
Ronald Gauch 11%
Thomas George 22%
Anthony Philip Giglio 44%
Emile Goguen 56%
Shirley Gomes 44%
William Greene, Jr. 44%
Cele Hahn 22%
Paul Haley 44%
Geoffrey Hall 44%
Robert Hargraves 33%
Lida Harkins 56%
John Hart, Jr. 56%
Robert Havern III 0%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 0%
Christopher Hodgkins 67%
Barbara Hyland 22%
Frank Hynes 56%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 40%
Brian Joyce 50%
Rachel Kaprielian 67%
Daniel Keenan 44%
Shaun Kelly 22%
Thomas Kennedy 78%
Michael Knapik 0%
Brian Knuuttila 44%
Peter Koutoujian 33%
Paul Kujawski 44%
Peter Larkin 44%
Stephen LeDuc 56%
Brian Lees 0%
John Lepper 0%
Maryanne Lewis 44%
John Locke 33%
David Magnani 60%
Francis Marini 11%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 89%
Thomas McGee 56%
William McManus II 22%
Linda Melconian 40%
John Merrigan 56%
Richard Moore 20%
Michael Morrissey 60%
Charles Murphy 56%
Kevin Murphy 44%
Mary Jeanette Murray 22%
Therese Murray 20%
William Nagle, Jr. 56%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 60%
Thomas O'Brien 56%
Eugene O'Flaherty 67%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 56%
Steven Panagiotakos 40%
Marie Parente 56%
Anne Marie Paulsen 100%
Vincent Pedone 22%
Douglas Petersen 56%
George Peterson, Jr. 11%
Susan Pope 11%
Ruth Provost 89%
John Quinn 67%
Henri S Rauschenbach 0%
Mary Rogeness 22%
J. Michael Ruane 33%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 40%
Mary Jane Simmons 44%
John Slattery 67%
Jo Ann Sprague 22%
Harriett Stanley 44%
John Stasik 89%
John Stefanini 67%
Ellen Story 89%
David Sullivan 56%
Joseph Sullivan 44%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 44%
Kathleen Teahan 56%
Richard Tisei 20%
Stephen Tobin 44%
Steven Tolman 100%
Robert Travaglini 60%
Philip Travis 44%
Eric Turkington 89%
David Tuttle 22%
Jim Vallee 56%
Anthony Verga 56%
Patricia Walrath 56%
Marian Walsh 60%
Dianne Wilkerson 60%
Alice Wolf 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top