Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Citizens for Participation in Political Action

1996 Positions

Issues: Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 71%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 70%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 40%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 70%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 60%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 30%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 90%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 38%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 20%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 20%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 14%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 50%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 60%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 90%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 33%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 100%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 50%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 60%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 50%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 60%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 43%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 71%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 14%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 29%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 70%
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill 80%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 50%
MA Councilor At-Large James Jajuga 14%
Matthew Amorello 0%
Steven Angelo 89%
Robert Antonioni 71%
Michael Bellotti 80%
Robert Bernstein 43%
Frederick Berry 33%
John Binienda, Sr. 10%
Daniel Bosley 86%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 0%
John Businger 100%
Thomas Cahir 50%
Christine Canavan 33%
Paul Caron 70%
Paul Casey 38%
Evelyn Chesky 30%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 60%
Edward Clancy, Jr. 29%
Carol Cleven 60%
Edward Connolly 30%
Samuel Corbitt 10%
Robert Correia 50%
Geraldine Creedon 60%
Brian Cresta 30%
Donna Fournier Cuomo 22%
Walter DeFilippi 0%
Paul Demakis 90%
Brian Dempsey 56%
Salvatore DiMasi 60%
David Donnelly 40%
Carol Donovan 80%
Robert Durand 33%
James Fagan 60%
Robert Fennell 50%
Thomas Finneran 33%
Kevin Fitzgerald 100%
Nancy Flavin 33%
Gloria Fox 100%
Barbara Gardner 60%
David Gately 60%
Ronald Gauch 10%
Anthony Philip Giglio 40%
Guy Glodis 30%
Emile Goguen 60%
Shirley Gomes 30%
William Greene, Jr. 10%
Patrick Guerriero 30%
Cele Hahn 30%
Paul Haley 40%
Geoffrey Hall 30%
Robert Hargraves 0%
Lida Harkins 70%
Robert Havern III 43%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 14%
Christopher Hodgkins 100%
Barbara Hyland 20%
Frank Hynes 70%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 57%
Rachel Kaprielian 80%
Daniel Keenan 30%
Shaun Kelly 25%
Thomas Kennedy 70%
John Klimm 67%
Michael Knapik 0%
Paul Kujawski 10%
Patrick Landers III 78%
Harold Lane, Jr. 70%
M. Paul Lannuccillo 25%
Peter Larkin 60%
Brian Lees 0%
Edward LeLacheur 30%
John Lepper 20%
Jacqueline Lewis 10%
Maryanne Lewis 50%
John Locke 70%
David Magnani 57%
Francis Marini 10%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 100%
Thomas McGee 70%
Joseph McIntyre 90%
William McManus II 50%
Linda Melconian 29%
Joan Menard 63%
John Merrigan 30%
Richard Moore 14%
Michael Morrissey 29%
Dennis Murphy 22%
Mary Jeanette Murray 38%
Therese Murray 49%
William Nagle, Jr. 56%
Thomas Norton 14%
Janet O'Brien 80%
John O'Brien, Jr. 57%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 80%
Marie Parente 60%
Anne Marie Paulsen 100%
Vincent Pedone 80%
David Peters 20%
Douglas Petersen 70%
George Peterson, Jr. 20%
Lois Pines 71%
Kevin Poirier 10%
John Quinn 60%
Henri S Rauschenbach 0%
William Reinstein 50%
Pamela Resor 90%
Charlotte Richie 100%
Mary Rogeness 20%
Stan Rosenberg 100%
J. Michael Ruane 30%
Anthony Scibelli 44%
Emanuel Serra 50%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 29%
Mary Jane Simmons 60%
John Slattery 90%
Jo Ann Sprague 20%
Harriett Stanley 33%
John Stefanini 88%
Douglas Stoddart 50%
Ellen Story 100%
Joseph Sullivan 30%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 90%
Alvin Thompson 90%
Richard Tisei 14%
Stephen Tobin 40%
Steven Tolman 90%
Warren Tolman 57%
Robert Travaglini 50%
Philip Travis 22%
Eric Turkington 100%
Jim Vallee 38%
Anthony Verga 80%
Patricia Walrath 60%
Marian Walsh 86%
Dianne Wilkerson 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top