Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD U.S. Senate Jr Mike Rounds Republican 80%
SD Governor Dennis Daugaard Republican 80%
SD State Senate 24 Jeff Monroe Republican 75%
SD Council Member At-Large Kermit Staggers 75%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 85%
SD Commissioner 4 Alan Aker 85%
SD Commissioner 5 Roger Lee 100%
Kenneth Albers 80%
Jerry Apa 55%
Linda Barker 78%
Richard Belatti 45%
Robert Benson 83%
Eric Bogue 83%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 65%
Roger Brooks 50%
Don Brosz 80%
Arnold Brown 80%
Gary Brown 90%
Jarvis Brown 70%
Richard Brown 45%
William Cerny, Jr. 93%
Roland Chicoine 100%
Caitlin Collier 88%
Kevin Crisp 83%
Steve Cutler 65%
Kay Davis 90%
Patricia de Hueck 33%
H. Dennert 85%
Michael Derby 55%
Larry Diedrich 75%
Robert Drake 80%
Jay Duenwald 55%
J.P. Duniphan 45%
James Dunn 73%
Rebecca Dunn 100%
Robert Duxbury 90%
Scott Eccarius 35%
Barbara Everist 80%
Kristie Fiegen 38%
Deb Fischer-Clemens 100%
Carol Fitzgerald 45%
Charles Flowers 100%
Randall Frederick 80%
Larry Gabriel 40%
David Gleason 98%
Richard Hagen 100%
Rexford Hagg 25%
Richard Hainje 80%
Patrick Haley 85%
Harold Halverson 75%
Arlene Ham-Burr 80%
Helena Hassard 45%
Bernie Hunhoff 98%
Roger Hunt 65%
James Hutmacher 100%
Mike Jaspers 55%
Douglas Johnson 70%
William Johnson 80%
Kay Jorgensen 50%
Douglas Kazmerzak 100%
Marguerite Kleven 80%
Frank Kloucek 100%
Gilbert Koetzle 75%
Claire Konold 75%
Clarence Kooistra 85%
John Koskan 45%
Kenneth Kredit 85%
Gerald Lange 100%
James Lawler 100%
Joanne Lockner 100%
Larry Lucas 85%
Cheryl Madden 50%
Dan Matthews 45%
Kenneth McNenny 45%
Garry Allen Moore 80%
JoAnn Morford-Burg 100%
David Munson 80%
Donald Munson 55%
William Napoli 45%
Mel Olson 85%
Keith Paisley 78%
Gordon Pederson 55%
William Peterson 35%
Willard Pummel 45%
J.E. Putnam 70%
John Reedy 100%
Mitchell Richter 30%
Robert Roe 65%
Judith Flynn Rost 50%
Craig D. Schaunaman 100%
Dean Schrempp 88%
Jerry Shoener 80%
Orville Smidt 65%
Gary Sokolow 58%
Burdette Solum 55%
James Sperry 78%
Paul Valandra 83%
Drue Vitter 80%
Ron Volesky 90%
Alfred Waltman 90%
Robert Weber 100%
Kenneth Wetz 55%
Fred Cavanaugh Whiting 80%
Hal Wick 53%
Dana Windhorst 43%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top