Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD U.S. Senate Jr Mike Rounds Republican 65%
SD Governor Dennis Daugaard Republican 73%
SD State Senate 24 Jeff Monroe Republican 55%
SD Council Member At-Large Kermit Staggers 68%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 95%
SD Commissioner 4 Alan Aker 40%
SD Commissioner 5 Roger Lee 100%
Kenneth Albers 75%
Jerry Apa 90%
Linda Barker 75%
Richard Belatti 90%
Robert Benson 63%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 80%
Roger Brooks 80%
Don Brosz 75%
Arnold Brown 75%
Jarvis Brown 88%
Richard Brown 70%
William Cerny, Jr. 100%
Roland Chicoine 100%
Caitlin Collier 90%
Kevin Crisp 100%
Steve Cutler 80%
Kay Davis 70%
Patricia de Hueck 90%
Michael DeMersseman 85%
H. Dennert 100%
Michael Derby 80%
Larry Diedrich 90%
Robert Drake 75%
Jay Duenwald 80%
J.P. Duniphan 80%
James Dunn 58%
Rebecca Dunn 100%
Robert Duxbury 90%
Scott Eccarius 60%
Barbara Everist 53%
Kristie Fiegen 45%
Deb Fischer-Clemens 100%
Carol Fitzgerald 90%
Charles Flowers 100%
Randall Frederick 55%
Larry Gabriel 80%
David Gleason 100%
Richard Hagen 75%
Rexford Hagg 50%
Richard Hainje 65%
Patrick Haley 100%
Harold Halverson 65%
Arlene Ham-Burr 75%
Helena Hassard 50%
Bernie Hunhoff 100%
Roger Hunt 80%
James Hutmacher 100%
Mike Jaspers 80%
Douglas Johnson 90%
William Johnson 58%
Kay Jorgensen 80%
Douglas Kazmerzak 100%
Marguerite Kleven 85%
Frank Kloucek 95%
Gilbert Koetzle 83%
Claire Konold 65%
Clarence Kooistra 80%
John Koskan 80%
Kenneth Kredit 90%
Gerald Lange 100%
James Lawler 100%
Joanne Lockner 85%
Larry Lucas 100%
Cheryl Madden 63%
Dan Matthews 80%
Kenneth McNenny 50%
Garry Allen Moore 85%
JoAnn Morford-Burg 98%
David Munson 75%
Donald Munson 90%
William Napoli 35%
Mel Olson 100%
Keith Paisley 75%
Gordon Pederson 80%
William Peterson 70%
Willard Pummel 80%
J.E. Putnam 90%
John Reedy 100%
Mitchell Richter 80%
Robert Roe 85%
Judith Flynn Rost 80%
Craig D. Schaunaman 90%
Dean Schrempp 100%
Jerry Shoener 70%
Orville Smidt 90%
Gary Sokolow 100%
James Sperry 100%
Jim Thompson 88%
Paul Valandra 95%
Drue Vitter 65%
Ron Volesky 100%
Alfred Waltman 100%
Robert Weber 100%
Kenneth Wetz 80%
Fred Cavanaugh Whiting 75%
Hal Wick 60%
Dana Windhorst 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top