Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 73%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 65%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 68%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 79%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 43%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 57%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 7%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 8%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 26%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 78%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 21%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 14%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 71%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 21%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 21%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 85%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 61%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 10%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 14%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 14%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 75%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 25%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 80%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 79%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 70%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 43%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 25%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 29%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 21%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 32%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 18%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 21%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 25%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 25%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 75%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 46%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 71%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 61%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 14%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 71%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 14%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 21%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 70%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 29%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 32%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 31%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 48%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 18%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 22%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 32%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 89%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 19%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 75%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 80%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 61%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 30%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 15%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 32%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 36%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 20%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 75%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 14%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 79%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 11%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 39%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 15%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 25%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 5%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 32%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 43%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 93%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 39%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
Neil Abercrombie 14%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 80%
Gary Ackerman 4%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 90%
Thomas Allen 25%
Rob Andrews 52%
Bill Archer 86%
Richard Armey 93%
John Ashcroft 90%
Spencer Bachus 71%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 80%
Richard Hugh Baker 61%
Cass Ballenger 69%
James Barcia 39%
Bob Barr, Jr. 93%
Bill Barrett 67%
Roscoe Bartlett 79%
Joe Barton 80%
Charlie Bass 89%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 44%
Max Baucus 15%
Bob Bennett 63%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 15%
Douglas Bereuter 64%
Howard Berman 13%
Marion Berry 39%
Joe Biden, Jr. 32%
Brian Bilbray 75%
Michael Bilirakis 71%
Jeff Bingaman 11%
Rod Blagojevich 39%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 63%
Sherwood Boehlert 44%
John Boehner 73%
Kit Bond 65%
Henry Bonilla 59%
David Edward Bonior 12%
Robert Borski, Jr. 15%
Leonard Boswell 29%
Rick Boucher 8%
Barbara Boxer 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 25%
John Breaux 25%
Corrine Brown 15%
Sam Brownback 90%
Richard Bryan 30%
Ed Bryant 79%
Jim Bunning 68%
Conrad Burns 74%
Dan Burton 78%
Steve Buyer 60%
Robert Byrd 25%
Herbert Callahan 61%
Dave Camp 64%
Ben Campbell 65%
Thomas Campbell 86%
Chris Cannon 93%
Julia Carson 26%
Mike Castle 71%
John Chafee 60%
Saxby Chambliss 71%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 69%
William Clay, Sr. 8%
Eva Clayton 11%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 15%
Robert Clement 22%
Howard Coble 86%
Thomas Coburn 81%
Thad Cochran 60%
Michael Collins 88%
Larry Combest 68%
Gary Condit 64%
Kent Conrad 10%
John Conyers, Jr. 23%
Merrill Cook 64%
John Cooksey 63%
Jerry Costello 22%
Paul Coverdell 80%
Christopher Cox 96%
William Coyne 7%
Larry Craig 85%
Robert Cramer 32%
Philip Crane 93%
Barbara Cubin 73%
Randall Cunningham 79%
Patsy Ann Danner 43%
Thomas Daschle 5%
James Davis 29%
Thomas Davis III 54%
Nathan Deal 82%
Bill Delahunt 15%
Thomas DeLay 79%
Peter Deutsch 33%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 57%
Jay Dickey 71%
Norm Dicks 19%
John Dingell 4%
Julian Dixon 7%
Chris Dodd 10%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 65%
Calvin Dooley 25%
John Doolittle 76%
Byron Dorgan 20%
David Dreier 71%
John Duncan, Jr. 82%
Jennifer Dunn 79%
Chet Edwards 21%
Vern Ehlers 74%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 93%
Jo Ann Emerson 68%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top