Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 56%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 58%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 67%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 77%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 18%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 68%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 7%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 85%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 68%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 21%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 4%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 70%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 63%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 7%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 7%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 71%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 25%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 60%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 75%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 60%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 64%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 7%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 4%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 12%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 4%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 60%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 7%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 11%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 68%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 32%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 71%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 68%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 81%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 7%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 4%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 64%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 18%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 21%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 57%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 8%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 18%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 18%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 19%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 93%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 19%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 60%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 79%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 32%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 14%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 19%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 24%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 20%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 82%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 74%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 68%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 82%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 18%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 7%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 11%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 32%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 93%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 29%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 80%
Neil Abercrombie 0%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 90%
Gary Ackerman 4%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 11%
Wayne Allard 85%
Thomas Allen 7%
Rob Andrews 21%
Bill Archer 89%
Richard Armey 89%
John Ashcroft 100%
Spencer Bachus 82%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 65%
Richard Hugh Baker 71%
Cass Ballenger 77%
James Barcia 22%
Bob Barr, Jr. 96%
Bill Barrett 75%
Roscoe Bartlett 81%
Joe Barton 82%
Charlie Bass 75%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 64%
Max Baucus 21%
Bob Bennett 55%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 7%
Douglas Bereuter 54%
Howard Berman 8%
Marion Berry 22%
Joe Biden, Jr. 11%
Brian Bilbray 61%
Michael Bilirakis 75%
Jeff Bingaman 30%
Rod Blagojevich 19%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 70%
Sherwood Boehlert 39%
John Boehner 78%
Kit Bond 63%
Henry Bonilla 78%
David Edward Bonior 0%
Mary Bono Mack 71%
Robert Borski, Jr. 11%
Leonard Boswell 25%
Rick Boucher 7%
Barbara Boxer 6%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 32%
Bob Brady 18%
John Breaux 15%
Corrine Brown 0%
George Brown, Jr. 8%
Sam Brownback 85%
Richard Bryan 30%
Ed Bryant 71%
Jim Bunning 65%
Conrad Burns 65%
Dan Burton 72%
Steve Buyer 68%
Robert Byrd 20%
Herbert Callahan 71%
Dave Camp 75%
Ben Campbell 55%
Thomas Campbell 68%
Chris Cannon 90%
Lois Capps 16%
Julia Carson 4%
Mike Castle 57%
John Chafee 50%
Saxby Chambliss 68%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 75%
William Clay, Sr. 0%
Eva Clayton 4%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 15%
Robert Clement 18%
Howard Coble 81%
Thomas Coburn 93%
Thad Cochran 60%
Michael Collins 89%
Larry Combest 71%
Gary Condit 50%
Kent Conrad 20%
John Conyers, Jr. 4%
Merrill Cook 74%
John Cooksey 69%
Jerry Costello 11%
Paul Coverdell 70%
Christopher Cox 93%
William Coyne 14%
Larry Craig 65%
Robert Cramer 36%
Philip Crane 93%
Barbara Cubin 79%
Randall Cunningham 75%
Patsy Ann Danner 50%
Thomas Daschle 15%
James Davis 11%
Thomas Davis III 52%
Nathan Deal 89%
Bill Delahunt 4%
Thomas DeLay 86%
Peter Deutsch 18%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Jay Dickey 82%
Norm Dicks 0%
John Dingell 4%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 5%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
Calvin Dooley 7%
John Doolittle 75%
Byron Dorgan 20%
David Dreier 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top