Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for a Livable World

2009-2010 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Max Baucus 100%
Mark Begich 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Tim Bishop 100%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Bruce Braley 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
Walter Holden Capps 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 100%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Donna Edwards 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Sam Farr 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
MN U.S. Senate Jr Al Franken Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 100%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 100%
Kay Hagan 100%
Phil Hare 100%
Tom Harkin 100%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 100%
Paul Hodes 100%
Rush Holt, Jr. 100%
Mike Honda 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 100%
Timothy Johnson 100%
Steve Kagen 100%
John Kerry 100%
MN U.S. Senate Sr Amy Klobuchar Democratic 100%
Herb Kohl 100%
Mary Landrieu 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
Carl Levin 100%
CA U.S. House 6 Doris Matsui Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Claire McCaskill Democratic 100%
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 100%
Mike Michaud 100%
George Miller 100%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Ron Paul 100%
ME U.S. House 1 Chellie Pingree Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 2 Jared Polis Democratic 100%
Mark Pryor 100%
IL U.S. House 5 Mike Quigley Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Harry Reid 100%
Jay Rockefeller IV 100%
CA U.S. House 38 Linda Sánchez Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NH U.S. Senate Sr Jeanne Shaheen Democratic 100%
Arlen Specter 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 100%
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 100%
Mark Udall 100%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 100%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Henry Waxman 100%
Jim Webb, Jr. 100%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 88%
Blanche Lincoln 88%
Ben Nelson 88%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 88%
Shelley Berkley 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 83%
Leonard Boswell 83%
Corrine Brown 83%
Russ Carnahan 83%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 83%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 83%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 83%
Bill Delahunt 83%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 83%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 83%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 83%
Barney Frank 83%
Henry Gonzalez 83%
Bart Gordon 83%
Alan Grayson 83%
Jane Harman 83%
Maurice Hinchey 83%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 83%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 83%
Tim Johnson 83%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 83%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 83%
Mary Jo Kilroy 83%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 83%
IA U.S. House 2 Dave Loebsack Democratic 83%
NM U.S. House 3 Ben Lujan, Jr. Democratic 83%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 83%
Dan Maffei 83%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 83%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 83%
Jim McDermott 83%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 83%
Jim Moran, Jr. 83%
CT U.S. Senate Jr Chris Murphy Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 83%
Ed Pastor 83%
Donald Payne 83%
CO U.S. House 7 Ed Perlmutter Democratic 83%
Tom Perriello 83%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 83%
MD U.S. House 3 John Sarbanes Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 83%
OR U.S. House 5 Kurt Schrader Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 83%
NH U.S. House 1 Carol Shea-Porter Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 83%
Pete Stark 83%
Betty Sutton 83%
John Tierney 83%
Ed Towns 83%
MA U.S. House 3 Niki Tsongas Democratic 83%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 83%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 83%
MN U.S. House 1 Tim Walz Democratic 83%
KY U.S. House 3 John Yarmuth Democratic 83%
Joe Lieberman 77%
Dick Lugar 77%
Barbara Mikulski 77%
George Voinovich 77%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 77%
Joe Baca, Sr. 66%
Marion Berry 66%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 66%
Dennis Cardoza 66%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 66%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 66%
Jerry Costello 66%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 66%
Kathy Dahlkemper 66%
Vern Ehlers 66%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 66%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 66%
John Hall 66%
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. 66%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 66%
Steve Israel 66%
Paul Kanjorski 66%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 66%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 66%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 66%
Brad Miller 66%
Harry Mitchell 66%
Patrick Murphy 66%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Gary Peters Democratic 66%
Laura Richardson 66%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 66%
Steve Rothman 66%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 66%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 66%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 66%
Mark Schauer 66%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 66%
Joe Sestak, Jr. 66%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 66%
Bart Stupak 66%
NY U.S. House 20 Paul Tonko Democratic 66%
FL U.S. House 23 Debbie Wasserman Schultz Democratic 66%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 66%
Diane Watson 66%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 66%
David Wu 66%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top