Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Bullock's Presidential Disaster Declaration Request Approved

Press Release

Location: Helena, MT

Today, Governor Steve Bullock's request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration was
approved by President Obama. Bullock made the request after widespread flooding and ice jams on rivers and streams caused damage in counties across the state.

"I'm pleased that the President has signed the request for a disaster declaration for the state,"

Bullock said. "With these additional resources, we'll be able to more effectively repairand replace infrastructure that was damaged during flooding last month. "

The Presidential Disaster Declaration provides additional resources to the state from the federal government for cleanup and recovery.

Under the disaster declaration, fifteen Montana counties are eligible for federal assistance for emergency work and repair or replacement of disaster damaged facilities. These counties are: Broadwater, Dawson, Golden Valley, Jefferson, Lake, Musselshell, Park, Pondera, Prairie, Ravalli, Richland, Rosebud, Sanders, Stillwater, and Wheatland.

In addition, all counties are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. These grants provide assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top