Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Huntsman Appointed the Appellate Court Nominating Commission Today

Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Governor Huntsman Appointed the Appellate Court Nominating Commission Today

Salt Lake City, Utah-Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., today announced the newly appointed members of the Appellate Court Nominating Commission.

The commission is composed of eight members. The Governor has appointed the following seven members:

John Adams (R)
David Bradford (R)
Jody Burnett (D)
Mona Given (R)
Jani Iwamoto (D)
Von Keetch (I)
Josh Reid (D)
The eighth member of the Commission is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, who is a member by law. Von Keetch will chair the Commission.

According to state law, "the Appellate Court Nominating Commission shall nominate justices of the Supreme Court and judges of the Court of Appeals." The Commission convenes whenever such vacancies arise for fewer than 45 days to review applicants and develop a list of nominees to present to the Governor. Each of the members appointed by the Governor serves a four-year term.

The Commission's immediate task will be to recommend to the Governor a replacement for Judge Norman H. Jackson of the Court of Appeals who will retire in August.

"These commissioners represent diverse political affiliations and professional expertise," said Governor Huntsman. "I am most appreciative of their willingness to serve in this very significant role."

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top