Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Tester, Baucus Announce Helena Student Selected for U.S. Senate Youth Program

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Montana's U.S. Senators Jon Tester and Max Baucus today announced that Rachel Skaar of Capital High School was chosen as a delegate to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program.

Skaar, along with Sharidan Russell of Polson, was selected from students across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates to attend the annual Washington Week in March and receive a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship from the Hearst Foundations to continue studying government, history and public affairs.

"Montana's future is in good hands with young leaders like Rachel," said Tester, the co-chair for the Senate Youth Program. "Her dedication to service and hard work speaks to the best of the Treasure State. I know Rachel will bring strong Montana values to Washington, and I look forward to hearing about her success in the weeks and years to come."

"Rachel's commitment to serve others, our state and our country represent values that make Big Sky Country strong. The U.S. Senate Youth Program is an excellent opportunity for our best and brightest to shine and I can't wait to see what's next for Rachel," Baucus said.

Skaar attends Capital High School and serves as the Student Body secretary. She is the Key Club president, a member of the National Honor Society, and is involved in politics, including working as a page in the Montana House of Representatives, volunteering on a major political campaign, and advocating for women's rights. Along with being an award-winning ballerina, she's also a photographer and enjoys hiking and skiing. She is considering political science, law, business, communications, and Spanish as potential courses of study in college.

While in Washington, D.C., Skaar and Russell will attend meetings and briefings with Senators and Congressional staff, President Obama, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, and members of the national media.

Skaar and Russell were nominated by their teachers and principals and selected from students across the state by Montana Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau. Baucus and Tester also congratulated 2014 alternates Anna Middleton, a resident of Big Sky, who attends Lone Peak High School and Aidan Wade, a resident of Helena, who attends Capital High School.

The Senate Youth Program was created in 1962, after being proposed by Montana Senator Mike Mansfield. The program is sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top