Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

LoBiondo, Bipartisan Working Group Statement on Deal to Avert Default, End Government Shutdown


Location: Washington, DC

The House bipartisan working group spearheading the effort to resolve the fiscal impasse in Washington issued the following statement in response to the announcement of a deal to reopen the government and avoid a default on the nation's debts:

"On day one of the government shutdown, we joined together not as Democrats, not as Republicans, but as Americans deeply committed to resolving this impasse and avoiding a self-inflicted economic wound that would devastate families across the country. As it became clear that partisanship -- and not problem solving -- would dominate the discussion in Washington, we were joined by pragmatic, like-minded leaders on both sides of the aisle. In informal talks, we were able to put our differences aside and develop a potential solution.

We applaud our Senate colleagues for working together to come up with a solution. Now it is time for Congress to act to get the government open and avoid further roiling the markets. We look forward to continuing our bipartisan discussions with the goal of putting forth a long-term deficit reduction agreement to get our fiscal house in order and finding other areas of cooperation."

Rep. Ron Kind (WI-03) and Rep. Charlie Dent (PA-15) announced the formation of a House bipartisan working group with 18 of their colleagues on Thursday, October 3. Since that announcement, the working group has expanded and continued to work to break the impasse. Members of the working group endorsing the above statement include:

House Republicans:

Rep. Lou Barletta

Rep. Mike Coffman

Rep. Charlie Dent

Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick

Rep. Jim Gerlach

Rep. Chris Gibson

Rep. Michael Grimm

Rep. Richard Hanna

Rep. David Joyce

Rep. Pete King

Rep. Leonard Lance

Rep. Frank LoBiondo

Rep. Pat Meehan

Rep. Jon Runyan

Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson

Rep. Don Young

House Democrats

Rep. Ron Kind

Rep. Ron Barber

Rep. Dan Maffei

Rep. Brad Schneider

Rep. Mike McIntyre

Rep. John Barrow

Rep. Jim Matheson

Rep. Kyrsten Sinema

Rep. Ami Bera

Rep. Bill Owens

Rep. Scott Peters

Rep. Gerry Connolly

Rep. Jared Polis

Rep. John Carney

Rep. Jim Cooper

Rep. John Delaney

Rep. Jim Moran

Rep. Mike Quigley

Rep. Jim Himes

Rep. Kurt Schrader

Rep. Rick Larsen

Rep. Dan Lipinski

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard

Rep. Janice Hahn

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top