Senators Urge Passage of Bipartisan Plan to Open Government and Avoid Default

A bipartisan group of United States Senators is urging Congressional approval of a bipartisan Reid-McConnell agreement to reopen the federal government and avoid a default on the national debt. The group of fourteen senators--seven Republicans, six Democrats, and one Independent-- have been negotiating a compromise plan to reopen government, avert the default, and restart budget negotiations on a long-term fiscal plan to deal with our nation's unsustainable debt, among other provisions.

"We are pleased that elements of our plan have been incorporated into the Senate leaders' plan," the Senators said in a joint statement. "The clock has run out, and it is time for our colleagues in both houses of Congress to adopt this bipartisan agreement."

Below are the members of the bipartisan group:


Susan Collins (ME)
Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Kelly Ayotte (NH)
John McCain (AZ)
Mike Johanns (NE)
Mark Kirk (IL)
Jeff Flake (AZ)

Democrats and Independent

Joe Manchin (WV)
Mark Pryor (AR)
Amy Klobuchar (MN)
Angus King (I-ME) caucuses with Democrats
Joe Donnelly (IN)
Heidi Heitkamp (ND)
Jeanne Shaheen (NH)

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.