Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Roe Cosponsors Bill to Open Smokies, Ensure State Is Reimbursed

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Rep. Phil Roe, M.D. (R-TN) signed on as an original cosponsor of H.R. 3286, the Protecting States, Opening National Parks Act, a bipartisan bill introduced by Rep. Daines (R-MT) to ensure states are reimbursed within 90 days for all state funds spent to pay for National Park operations.

Rep. Roe released the following statement on the legislation:

"This important legislation would ensure states that move forward with reopening their National Parks are reimbursed when the Federal Government reopens," Congressman Phil Roe (R-TN) added. "This is especially important to states like Tennessee, where Governor Haslam must balance the budget. The Smokies are a beautiful part of the great state of Tennessee and have a huge economic impact in East Tennessee, especially during the fall months. I am proud to join my colleagues in supporting this bill and I hope it will help reopen the gates to the parks across the country."

Rep. Daines released the following statement on the legislation:

"Our National Parks not only represent an important part of this country's heritage--they are important drivers of many state economies," Congressman Steve Daines (R-MT) stated. "While I'm pleased that the Obama administration has finally relented and allowed individual states to get our National Parks open again, it's unacceptable that a state like Montana could be forced to bear even more of a financial burden because of Washington's failures. My legislation will protect states and ensure they receive full compensation for their work to reopen our National Park gates."

Representatives Rob Bishop (R-UT), Paul Cook (R-CA), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Duncan (R-TN), Trent Franks (R-AZ), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Jim Matheson (D-UT), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Mark Meadows (R-NC), Steve Pearce (R-NM), Phil Roe (R-TN), Scott Tipton (R-CO), Chris Stewart (R-UT) and Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA) serve as original co-sponsors of Daines' legislation.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top