Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Arkansas Delegation Announces Funding for Local Law Enforcement

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1) and Tim Griffin (AR-2) today announced that fifteen local law enforcement agencies will receive nearly $850,000 from the U.S. Department of Justice Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program to enhance their efforts to protect Arkansas families and local communities.

"During my time as Arkansas Attorney General, I saw first-hand how important it is for law enforcement to have tools to protect themselves while fighting crime in the state," Pryor said. "These grants will allow our local law enforcement agencies to better equip and train their officers and keep our families safe."

"Equipping our law enforcement officers with the tools they need and preparing them with appropriate training to protect our communities is important to the safety of Arkansas families," Boozman said. "These grants are a great investment in our first responders which will enable them to better protect themselves and our citizens."

"Arkansas law enforcement officials are some of the hardest working individuals in communities across our state. These funds will augment the excellent work of local law enforcement to train new officers and continue keeping Arkansas a safe place to live and do business," said Crawford.

"These resources will help law enforcement officers better protect our communities and keep our children safe," said Griffin.

The law enforcement agencies receiving funding are as follows:

* Batesville: Independence County will receive $16,942 to purchase equipment and supplies that will help apprehend suspects and ensure public safety.

* Benton: The City of Benton will receive $10,547 for new computer systems that will improve police investigations and prosecutions.

* Conway: The City of Conway will receive $23,907 to purchase equipment and supplies that will enhance police officer and public safety.

* Fayetteville: The City of Fayetteville will receive $69,977 for police officer training, as well as equipment and supplies.

* Fort Smith: The City of Fort Smith will receive $59,131 to purchase law enforcement equipment and supplies.

* Hot Springs: The City of Hot Springs will receive $49,958 for equipment and supplies that will improve telecommunications and capabilities.

* Jacksonville: The City of Jacksonville will receive $20,079 for equipment, which will help reduce the number of car accidents and aggressive driving.

* Jonesboro: The City of Jonesboro will receive $28,116 to purchase law enforcement equipment and supplies that will improve the criminal justice system.

* Little Rock: The City of Little Rock will receive $350,484 to purchase law enforcement equipment and supplies.

* Lonoke: Lonoke County will receive $11,952 to purchase computers.

* Luxora: Mississippi County will receive $28,445 to upgrade and replace communications systems.

* Pine Bluff: The City of Pine Bluff will receive $62,477 to equip and train officers to respond to crimes and address homeland security issues.

* Rogers: The City of Rogers will receive $18,525 to purchase equipment needed for narcotic detection, tracking, article searches, and K-9 handler protection.

* Texarkana: The City of Texarkana will receive $24,262 for equipment to enhance community policing and crime prevention.

* West Memphis: The City of West Memphis will receive $72,875 to equip and train police officers.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top