Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Letter to Speaker John Boehner, Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, House of Representatives, Majority Leader Harry Reid and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, Senate - Farm Bill Passage


Location: Des Moines, IA

The Honorable John A. Boehner
Speaker, U.S .House of Representatives
H-232 Capitol Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi
Minority Leader, U.S .House of Representatives
H-204 Capitol Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Harry Reid
Majority Leader, U.S. Senate
S-221 Capitol Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell
Minority Leader, U.S. Senate
S-230 Capitol Building
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Boehner, Majority Leader Reid, Minority Leader Pelosi, and Minority Leader McConnell:

As leaders from a key agricultural state, we write to encourage swift conference committee resolution of the differing farm bill measures that have passed both chambers of Congress. Quick resolution will allow you to seize the opportunity to enact needed farm program reforms, gain real cost savings, improve the sustainability of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and provide long-term certainty for farm families and agricultural producers.

We applaud both chambers for moving forward significant programmatic reforms that improve risk management and focus and improve the sustainability of relevant farm programs. We commend the U.S. Senate for taking a comprehensive approach to reauthorization, including reforms to both farm programs and SNAP. We admire Congressman Lucas and Congressman Peterson for pushing for significant SNAP savings in the version of the legislation that passed their committee. We hope that such significant savings can be realized in a bipartisan compromise demonstrating Congress has a willingness to scale back Federal government spending and make the Federal government work for American people.

We join agricultural and conservation stakeholders to encourage passage of a long-term farm bill.


Terry E. Branstad
Governor of Iowa

Kim Reynolds
Lt. Governor of Iowa

Bill Northey
Secretary, Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Stewardship

Chuck Gipp
Director, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top