Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

DeGette And Pro-Choice Caucus Statement On Tx Legislature Passage Of Unconstitutional Anti-Choice Measure


Location: Washington, DC

Today, U.S. Reps. Diana DeGette (D-CO) and Louise M. Slaughter (D-NY), co-chairs of the House Pro-Choice Caucus, released the following statement in response to the Texas legislature's passage of an unconstitutional, anti-choice piece of legislation:

"It's simply astonishing that Republicans have decided to waste more time cooking up attacks for their War on Women, including passing the most restrictive abortion bill in the country today in the Texas legislature -- one that would institute an unconstitutional ban on 20-week abortions and force most clinics in the state to close. Just in the last month, we've seen House Republicans in Washington pass an unconstitutional 20-week abortion ban, an all-male bill signing ceremony for a restrictive abortion bill in Ohio, and a forced ultrasound bill signed by Wisconsin governor Scott Walker. Politicians should stop trying to get between a woman and her doctor, and start focusing on the real issues of this country -- reviving our economy, creating jobs, and getting Americans back to work."

Last week, Pro-Choice Caucus members sent a letter to Texas State Senator Wendy Davis thanking her for her successful filibuster of the bill in the Senate. Please find it below:

Dear Senator Davis:

Thank you for your courageous and powerful stand on the floor of the Texas State Senate last night. The passion and commitment you showed repeats a message that American women delivered at the polls in the 2012 election -- that women matter and will be heard. As we fight for women's health on the floor of the House of Representatives, we are heartened that you and others are fighting the same battles in statehouses across this country. The battle will continue, and we look forward to standing with you to protect women's health!


Louise M. Slaughter, Co-Chair of Pro-Choice Caucus

Diana DeGette, Co-Chair of Pro-Choice Caucus

Ami Bera

Gwen Moore

Gerald E. Connolly

Charles B. Rangel

Chellie Pingree

Janice Hahn

Mark Takano

Nita Lowey

Timothy Bishop

Jerrold Nadler

Brian Higgins

Steve Cohen

Mike Quigley

Lloyd Doggett

Doris Matsui

Kathy Castor

Zoe Lofgren

Allyson Schwartz

John Yarmuth

Marc Veasey

Lois Capps

Brad Schneider

Grace F. Napolitano

Rosa DeLauro

Adam Schiff

Mike Thompson

Dina Titus

Michelle Lujan Grisham

Chris Van Hollen

Suzan DelBene

Ron Kind

Lois Frankel

Henry Waxman

Barbara Lee

Niki Tsongas

Ann McLane Kuster

David Cicilline

Hank Johnson

Bruce Braley

Carolyn Maloney

Jackie Speier

Gary Peters

James P. McGovern

Jan Schakowsky

Eliot L. Engel

Eddie Bernice Johnson

Peter Welch

Suzanne Bonamici

Frederica Wilson

Alan Lowenthal

Steve Israel

Xavier Becerra

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top