Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Quinn Proclaims Chicago Blackhawks Day in Illinois


Location: Chicago, IL

Governor Pat Quinn today proclaimed June 28, 2013 to be Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks Day in Illinois, in honor of the team's recent Stanley Cup win and their outstanding season.

The Blackhawks' unforgettable victory over the Boston Bruins isn't the only win Illinois is celebrating - , the Greater Chicago Food Depository will have another set of helping hands this summer when Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick comes to make good on his wager with Governor Quinn. On June 11 the governors made a wager before the start of the Stanley Cup Final series that the governor of the losing team's state would volunteer at the food bank of the winning governor's choice.

The Stanley Cup will reprise its 2010 visit to the Illinois Executive Mansion in Springfield later this summer, where the public may view the trophy free of charge. The date of the public display will be announced at a later date.

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks were founded on September 25, 1926 by Major Frederic McLaughlin and named after the 333rd Machine Gun Battalion of the 86th Division of the United States Army, the unit Major McLaughlin commanded in World War I; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks, in their nearly 87 years have showcased outstanding offensemen including Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, Denis Savard, and Jeremy Roenick; elite defensemen including Pierre Pilote, Keith Magnuson, and Chris Chelios; and superior goaltenders Glenn Hall and Tony Esposito; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks began the 2013 season by earning at least 1 point in 24 consecutive games, thereby setting a new National Hockey League record, won over 80 percent of their regular season games and completed the regular season with the most points of any team; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' unmatched 2013 regular season success resulted in receipt of the Presidents' Trophy, given by the National Hockey League to the team that completes the regular season with the best overall record, for the second time in franchise history; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' exceptional goaltending tandem of Corey Crawford and Ray Emery, in recognition of their unparalleled 2013 regular season, earned the William M. Jennings Trophy by allowing the fewest goals of any team's goaltenders in the National Hockey League; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' esteemed captain Jonathan Toews, in recognition of his superior 2013 regular season, was awarded the Frank J. Selke Trophy, given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' Patrick Kane led the Blackhawks with 19 points in the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs, including 3 goals and 4 points in the last 3 games of the Stanley Cup Final, thereby netting the Conn Smythe Trophy, given to the most valuable player to his team in the Stanley Cup Playoffs; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' Bryan Bickell scored the tying goal in the final game with 1 minute and 16 seconds remaining in the third period, and the Chicago Blackhawks' Dave Bolland scored the winning goal only 17 seconds later with just 59 seconds remaining in the third and final period, the latest Stanley Cup-clinching goal scored in regulation time in the history of the National Hockey League; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' unequaled regular season produced the top overall seed for the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs, an advantage that culminated on Monday, June 24, 2013, when the Chicago Blackhawks defeated the Boston Bruins by a score of 3-2 to become 2013 Stanley Cup Champions; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks of 2013 became the fifth team in history to win the National Hockey League championship and raise Lord Stanley's Cup -- the oldest, most storied trophy in professional sports -- wearing the iconic Chicago Blackhawks sweater, thereby joining the other victorious teams from 1934, 1938, 1961 and 2010; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks' 2013 Stanley Cup victory was produced from the foundation of enthusiasm and desire created by Team Chairman Rocky Wirtz, Team President John McDonough, General Manager Stan Bowman, Head Coach Joel Quenneville, the Chicago Blackhawks' players, and each and every member of the Chicago Blackhawks organization; and,

WHEREAS, the Chicago Blackhawks made their second Championship contribution to the lives of the people of Illinois in the last 4 years, thereby again uniting sports fans in civic pride, as well as improving the lives of those in need and providing opportunities for the youth of Illinois through the Chicago Blackhawks Community Fund;

THEREFORE I, Pat Quinn, Governor of the State of Illinois, do hereby proclaim Friday, June 28, 2013, to be STANLEY CUP CHAMPION CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS DAY in Illinois and encourage Illinois citizens to celebrate the 2013 Stanley Cup victory by our team and proudly show support of the Blackhawks at our homes, workplaces, and schools throughout the Land of Lincoln.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top