Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Readout of Secretary Napolitano and Administrator Fugate's Call With Governors About Hurricane Season

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Administrator Craig Fugate today joined National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Acting Administrator Dr. Kathryn Sullivan and National Hurricane Center Director Dr. Rick Knabb to brief governors and emergency management teams from the East Coast and Gulf Coast states, and U.S. territories in the Caribbean, on the 2013 hurricane season.

"The Department of Homeland Security and FEMA continue to improve the way we prepare for, respond to, and recover from hurricanes and other natural disasters," said Secretary Napolitano. "As the 2013 Hurricane Season draws near, our continued partnership with state, local and tribal officials will further strengthen our preparedness efforts and emergency response capabilities."

"FEMA stands ready to support states and territories in preparation for the 2013 hurricane season," said Administrator Fugate. "We all need to understand our risks and have a plan before a storm."

In a teleconference, Secretary Napolitano and Administrator Fugate discussed preparedness, reviewed the federal government's role in support of states, answered questions from governors and state emergency management teams, and provided an update on new initiatives in disaster response and recovery. Governors and representatives from 24 states and territories participated in the call, discussing initiatives to encourage preparedness in all areas vulnerable to hurricanes and tropical storms.

May 26th marks the first day of the 2013 Hurricane Preparedness Week. Being prepared starts by knowing your risk and taking the appropriate actions before, during and after a hurricane strikes.

The call included governors or state emergency management teams from the following states and territories:

District of Columbia
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York
North Carolina
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
U.S. Virgin Islands
West Virginia

For more information please visit

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top