Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Letter to Honorable John A. Boehner, Speaker of the House - Sequester

Hon. John A. Boehner

Speaker of the House

U.S. House of Representatives

H-232, The Capitol

Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

As the effects of sequestration are felt across the country, Congress has a responsibility to act in an effort to replace them with a balanced solution to deficits.

This week, the House will vote on a bill to repeal the Affordable Care Act, which it has already done thirty-six times. Your justification for another unnecessary repeal vote has been that it allows freshmen members their first formal opportunity to let their constituents know where they stand on repeal. However, you have not allowed freshmen the same opportunity to vote on a balanced alternative to replace sequestration.

As each day passes, and more of our constituents are waking up to the reality of these cuts and the serious effects they could have on their lives and communities, we are asking for an up-or-down vote on the House Floor on Republican and Democratic alternatives to sequestration. Doing so will provide us with the opportunity to be on record on this issue of critical importance to the families and businesses we represent and who are deeply concerned about how the 113th Congress will act.

With the sequester's negative impact already taking its toll, we ask that you move quickly to schedule these votes. All of us are ready to come to the Floor and make our constituents' voices heard with regard to sequestration and its potential to harm our economic recovery and our national security.

Sincerely yours,

Dan Kildee (MI-05)

Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)

Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01)

Scott Peters (CA-52)

Joe Garcia (FL-26)

Marc Veasey (TX-33)

Joyce Beatty (OH-03)

Lois Frankel (FL-22)

Ann Fitzpatrick (AZ-01)

Rick Nolan (MN-08)

Pete Gallego (TX-23)

Denny Heck (WA-10)

Jared Huffman (CA-02)

Derek Kilmer (WA-06)

Juan Vargas (CA-51)

Tony Cárdenas (CA-29)

Ami Bera (CA-07)

Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08)

Matt Cartwright (PA-17)

Mark Pocan (WI-02)

Eric Swalwell (CA-15)

Bill Foster (IL-11)

Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)

Beto O'Rourke (TX-16)

Tammy Duckworth (IL-08)

William Enyart (IL-12)

Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02)

Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)

Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)

Daniel Maffei (NY-24)

Donald Payne Jr. (NJ-10)

Robin Kelly (IL-02)

Mark Takano (CA-41)

Filemon Vela (TX-34)

Joaquin Castro (TX-20)

Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35)

Suzan Delbene (WA-01)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)

Alan Grayson (FL-01)

Steven Horsford (NV-04)

Brad Schneider (IL-10)

Joseph P. Kennedy III (MA-04)

Grace Meng (NY-06)

Raul Ruiz (CA-36)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top