Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Portman Cosponsors Bill To Ban All Iranian Government Exports

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

As the Government of Iran continues to partner with North Korea on missile and nuclear technology, sponsor terrorism, disregard human rights by targeting Iranian dissidents worldwide, and defy United Nations Security Council orders to halt its nuclear enrichment activities, U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-Ohio) signed on as an original cosponsor of the Iran Export Embargo Act, legislation introduced by Senators John Cornyn (R-Texas) and Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) to impose sanctions on the Government of Iran.

The Iran Export Embargo Act would expand existing U.S. sanctions law by prohibiting the purchase or transfer of goods and services from any entity owned or controlled by the Government of Iran and banning all transactions on behalf of such entities for the purpose of exports from Iran. The bill would block all assets of entities deemed to be Government of Iran and also prohibit any insurance or reinsurance for such entities.

"We are at a pivotal point and must do everything we can to avoid Iran developing a nuclear weapons capability and the means to deliver it," Portman said. "The pressure of the whole world must come down on Iran, and we will no longer do business with those who provide funds to the Iranian regime."

"It's time to send a clear message to all nations of the world -- there is no such thing as legitimate trade with the Government of Iran," Senator Kirk said. "Money is fungible and any funds deposited into the Iranian Government's coffers help subsidize its rogue nuclear program, illicit proliferation networks and unprecedented human rights abuses. We owe it to the American people to exhaust all available options before the diplomatic clock runs out."

"Put simply, countries and companies around the world will be forced to choose -- stop doing business with the government of Iran or stop doing business in the United States of America," Senator Cornyn said.

Joining Portman, Kirk, and Cornyn in cosponsoring the Export Embargo Act are U.S. Senators Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), James Risch (R-Ind.), Dan Coats (R-Ind.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), David Vitter (R-La.), and Mike Lee (R-Utah).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top