Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Lummis Heads Endangered Species Act Working Group

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Thursday U.S. Representative Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo) joined fellow House Republicans in announcing the creation of the Endangered Species Act (ESA) Working Group. The goal of the Working Group is to examine the ESA from all angles. Throughout this year, the Working Group will hold a series of events, forums, and hearings that will invite open discussion and input on ways in which the ESA (last reauthorized in 1988) is working well, how it could be updated, and how to boost its effectiveness for both people and species.

The Working Group will examine a number of specific topics and questions including: how to measure ESA progress; how to define success; if the ESA is working to achieve its goals; whether litigation is driving the ESA; the role of state and local governments in recovering species; whether the ESA ensures compatibility of property and water rights and species protection; the need for public engagement and input; and more.

Following the announcement Congressman Lummis released this statement:

"This is an opportunity for members from across the country to collaborate on creating a more effective conservation tool for our nation's diverse wildlife. The ESA has long been a topic of great interest to the West, but as Western Caucus Co-Chair, I believe that Westerners must do a better job of reaching out to our Eastern colleagues on this topic in a way that builds trust, not division. The ESA can work, but it is far from perfect. In fact, in some ways the law hinders the kind of conservation of species that we all desire. This working group will leave no stone unturned for good ideas on improving the ESA for people and species. I am particularly interested in the ideas coming from our nation's policy laboratories -- the states. In the end, I am hopeful the working group will provide a strong base of education and opens a discussion on the ESA that is free of rancor."

For more information on the ESA Working Group, visit

Members of the ESA Working Group include:

Doc Hastings (WA-04)
Cynthia Lummis (WY/AL)
Mark Amodei (NV-02)
Rob Bishop (UT-01)
Doug Collins (GA-09)
Andy Harris (MD-01)
Bill Huizenga (MI-02)
James Lankford (OK-05)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03)
Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
Steve Southerland (FL-02)
Glenn "GT' Thompson (PA-05)
David Valadao (CA-21)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top