Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Announces New Council on Workforce Investment

Press Release

Location: Madison, WI

Governor Scott Walker today announced the new membership of his administration's Council on Workforce Investment, an advisory panel that will help guide efforts to advance the Governor's comprehensive agenda to prepare workers to find jobs in the modern workforce.

"As we look to target substantial investments to develop the workforce and help Wisconsinites successfully pursue family-supporting careers and find true independence, the Council on Workforce Investment will provide valuable input with representatives from business, education, legislative and other key groups," Governor Walker said. "My administration's continued focus on creating jobs will guide the work of the Council as we look to address the skills gap and fill employers' current and future labor market needs."

The Council is a federally-mandated body that advises the Governor and state Department of Workforce Development (DWD) on the allocation of federal workforce development funding. Among the duties of the Council are approving the annual Workforce Investment Act plan required of all states in coordination with Wisconsin's 12 autonomous workforce investment boards.

Mary Isbister, President of General Metalworks Corporation in Mequon, will serve as chair of the Governor's Council on Workforce Investment. Isbister also serves on the board of a number of regional and national organizations, including the Wisconsin Manufacturing Extension Partnership and the Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce. She also previously served as the vice chair of the Council on Workforce Investment.

Mike Laszkiewicz, Vice President and General Manager of Power Controls at Rockwell Automation will serve as Vice Chair of the Council. Laszkiewicz currently serves as the chair of the Manufacturing Council, which advises the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce on issues related to manufacturing in the United States.

The membership of the council includes state legislators, local elected officials, and representatives from youth organizations, organized labor, and community-based organizations.

Governor Walker has proposed nearly $100 million in state funding to support a sweeping workforce development agenda, including a series of 2013-15 budget proposals as well as the recently enacted Wisconsin Fast Forward initiative, which targets $15 million in worker training funds and supports the development of a state-of-the-art labor market information system.

The new Council is expected to convene in May. A list of members is available at

Members, Governor's Council on Workforce Investment

Council Chair
Mary Isbister, President
General Metalworks Corporation, Mequon

Executive Director
Reggie Newson, Secretary
Department Of Workforce Development, Madison

Council Vice Chair
Michael Laszkiewicz, Vice President and
General Manageer -- Power Controls
Rockwell Automation, Milwaukee

David Brukardt, Associate Vice President for Economic Development
University of Wisconsin System
UW Liaison - Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, Madison

Alan Petelinsek, President/Ceo
Power Test, Inc., Sussex

County Executive Allen Buechel
Fond du Lac County, Fond du Lac

Representative Warren Petryk (R)
Wisconsin State Assembly, 93rd District

Jeffrey Clark, President/CEO
Waukesha Metal Products, Sussex

Dawn Pratt, Human Resources/EEO Officer
Payne & Dolan, Fitchburg

Morna Foy, President
Wisconsin Technical College System, Madison

Mark Reihl, Executive Director
Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters, Madison

Daniel Hartung, President
Hartung Brothers, Inc., Madison

Sarit Singhal, President/CEO
Superior Support Resources, Inc., Milwaukee

Grailing Jones, Director -- Owner/Operator Small
Business Development
Schneider Finance, Inc., Green Bay

Howard Teeter, President/Managing Partner
Anteco Pharma LLC, Lodi

Theresa Jones, Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion Strategies
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare, Brookfield

Senator Tom Tiffany (R)
Wisconsin State Senate, 12th District

Senator Julie Lassa (D)
Wisconsin State Senate, 24th District

Representative Robin Vos (R)
Wisconsin State Assembly, 63rd District

County Executive Daniel Vrakas
Waukesha County, Waukesha

Terrance McGowan, President
International Union of Operating Engineers Local 139, Milwaukee

Brian White, President
General Electric -- Waukesha Gas Engines,Waukesha

Dan Mella, Principal
Plymouth High School, Plymouth

Wyman Winston, Executive Director
Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority, Madison

David Mitchell, President/COO
Monarch Corporation, Milwaukee

Representative Josh Zepnick (D)
Wisconsin State Assembly, 9th District

Alan "Kent" Olson, President
Olson Tire and Auto Services, Inc., Wausau

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top