Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Congressman Denham Joins Bipartisan Caucus to Support the American Sikh Community


Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Representative Jeff Denham (R-Turlock) today joined House colleagues in launching the American Sikh Congressional Caucus. Representatives David Valadao (CA-21) and Judy Chu (CA-32) will co-chair the new caucus, which will educate Members of Congress and the general public about Sikh issues in support of the American Sikh community.

"The Sikh American community plays an influential role in the Central Valley region's economy and culture," said Denham. "It's always been a top priority of mine to ensure every voice of our rich and diverse community is heard, and I'm honored to join this bipartisan effort."

American Sikhs have contributed to the strength and diversity of the United States for over 130 years, starting businesses and becoming active leaders in our local communities. But following the attacks on September 11th, some Sikh Americans have faced increased levels of discrimination and even violence from individuals who mistakenly believe they are associated with terrorist attacks on the United States. The Associated Press reports that more than 700 such incidents took place over the last decade. The shooting at a Sikh gurdwara in Oak Creek, WI last year is a tragic example of why Congress must focus on issues impacting American Sikhs.

Moving forward, the caucus intends to address the following issues impacting the American Sikh community:

- Military discrimination preventing American Sikhs from enlisting due to restrictive appearance regulations that ban turbans.
- Violence against American Sikhs that has increased in the wake of the September 11th terrorist attacks in 2001.
- Bullying being experienced by as many as three in every four Sikh boys.
- Racial profiling due to well-intentioned but misguided law enforcement policies.

The following Members of Congress have joined the American Sikh Congressional Caucus: Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37), Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27), Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Rep. John Conyers (MI-13), Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16), Rep. Jeff Denham (CA-10), Rep. John Garamendi (CA-3), Rep. Raul Grijalva (AZ-3), Rep. Joe Heck (NV-3), Rep. Rush Holt (NJ-12), Rep. Mike Honda (CA-12), Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-4), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-1), Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-4), Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-9), Rep. Carolyn Maloney (NY-12), Rep. Doris Matsui (CA-6), Rep. George Miller (CA-11), Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22), Rep. Frank Pallone (NJ-6), Rep. Bill Pascrell (NJ-9), Rep. Gary Peters (MI-14), Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-9), Rep. Jackie Speier (CA-14), Rep. David Valadao (CA-21), Rep. Chris Van Hollen (MD-8).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top