Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Rockefeller Congratulates WV Small Business Person of the Year

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Senator Jay Rockefeller today congratulated Diane Lewis of Morgantown after she was named West Virginia's Small Business Person of the Year by the Small Business Administration (SBA). Diane is the President and CEO of Action Facilities Management in Morgantown (AFM).

"The Small Business Person of the Year award is a tremendous honor, and I hope Diane is very proud of this well-deserved recognition," said Rockefeller. "Diane is such a shining example of what it means to build a company from the ground up and see tremendous success, providing jobs and helping boost the local economy. Her company's growth in the last twelve years proves that hard work and innovative thinking pay off in big ways. She has grown her company to employ more than 200 West Virginians, and I have no doubt we will continue seeing Action Facilities Management thrive under her vision and leadership."

Lewis was named Minority Small Business Champion by the SBA in 2010. Action Facilities Management provides government and commercial contract services, and specializes in providing site management services including security, maintenance, project management, equipment operations, consulting, training, and staffing. AFM is certified by the SBA as a Small Disadvantaged Business and a Female Minority-Owned Business. The company has many clients including the Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of Homeland Security, Federal Protective Service, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Lewis founded AFM in 2001 in the basement of her home. Her first employee was her 17-year-old son, who worked as her assistant. Today, AFM has over 200 employees in West Virginia and nine other states. Lewis' son heads up the company's office in Washington D.C., and her daughter is head of the human resources department at the Morgantown headquarters.

SBA names a "Small Business Person of the Year" in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam each year. The recipients are selected by a panel of judges based on eight criteria including: staying power; growth in number of employees; increase in sales or unit volume; current and past financial performance; innovativeness of product or service offered; response to adversity; contributions to community-oriented projects; and if applicable, products exported and markets served.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top