Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Sen. Warner Reintroduces Bipartisan Bill Honoring Intelligence Professionals


Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Sens. Mark R. Warner (D-VA), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Roy Blunt (R-MO), and Richard Burr (R-NC), members of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, introduced a joint resolution today that would designate July 26 as United States Intelligence Professionals Day to honor intelligence officers, past and present, for their service and professionalism. On July 26, 1947 President Harry Truman signed into law the National Security Act of 1947, which created the intelligence community and still governs its activities. Sens. Warner and Mikulski previously introduced the legislation in the 112th Congress.

"Our country will never know about the hard work of many of our quietly courageous intelligence professionals. These men and women -- many of them Virginians that I have met traveling the Commonwealth -- deserve our gratitude," Sen. Warner said. "We rely on these professionals to keep us safe and it is appropriate that we acknowledge their dedication and service."

"Intelligence professionals serve our country in anonymity knowing that most of the work they do to protect our freedom will never be made public," Sen. Mikulski said. "They are unsung heroes who risk their lives and even give their lives fighting terrorists and those who wish to do this country harm. This bill honors America's intelligence professionals with their own national day of recognition. As a member of the Senate Intelligence Committee, I am proud and honored to support the brave men and women of the intelligence community."

"Missouri is critical to our national security efforts as the home to thousands of intelligence professionals at the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency, as well as former President Truman, who signed the 1947 National Security Act into law," said Sen. Blunt. "I'm proud to support this resolution once again and to honor the intelligence professionals who work tirelessly to keep America safe."

"I have a tremendous amount of respect for the men and women in our intelligence community who rarely receive the recognition they deserve due to the confidential nature of many of their assignments," said Sen. Burr. "This bipartisan bill represents a small way we can acknowledge their vital service to our nation and express our gratitude."

The bipartisan legislation has 25 original cosponsors: Sens. Warner, Mikulski, Blunt, Burr, Feinstein, Chambliss, Mark Udall, Risch, Roberts, Hirono, Rockefeller, Nelson, Collins, King, Rubio, Coburn, Coats, Wyden, Heinrich, Cochran, Durbin, Manchin, Cardin, Schatz and Kaine. The legislation will be considered by the Judiciary Committee.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top