Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Esty Joins Coalition of Elected Officials, Law Enforcement Officials, and Gun Violence Victims to Introduce the Assault Weapons Ban of 2013

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty joined Members of Congress and a coalition of Mayors, law enforcement officers, gun safety organizations and other groups, and victims of gun violence to introduce legislation on military-style assault weapons and high capacity ammunition feeding devices -- the Assault Weapons Ban of 2013. The Assault Weapons Ban of 2013 would reauthorize and strengthen the 1994 assault weapons ban which expired in 2004.

"What happened in Newtown on December 14th, 2012 was an unimaginable tragedy. What happens now is up to each of us," Esty said. "Newtown must be a call to action for Congress and for the majority of Americans who believe we can respect the rights of responsible, law-abiding gun owners and we can save lives. Because Newtown is paying the price of political inaction. Because communities across the country are paying the price of inaction. Because we can't sit by and allow the loss of precious children and of talented and courageous educators to go unanswered. Because we can't allow the loss of countless innocent victims to continue. It is time to act. It is time to renew and strengthen the Assault Weapons Ban to save lives in cities and towns across the country."

The Assault Weapons Ban of 2013 is being introduced by Senator Diane Feinstein in the U.S. Senate. Esty is an original co-sponsor of companion legislation being introduced by Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy in the U.S. House.

The legislation would ban large-capacity ammunition feeding devices capable of accepting more than 10 rounds. It would also ban the sale, transfer, importation, or manufacturing of over 100 specifically-named firearms, certain other semiautomatic rifles, handguns, shotguns that can accept a detachable magazine, and semiautomatic rifles and handguns with a fixed magazine that can accept more than 10 rounds. Additionally the legislation would remove loopholes that hindered enforcement of the 1994 assault weapons ban, such as moving from a 2-characteristic test to a 1-characteristic test and eliminating the easy-to-remove bayonet mounts and flash suppressors from the characteristics test.

Other members of the U.S. Senate and House participating in today's announcement included Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Senator Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Senator Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.), and Congressman Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top