Two Mississippi Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas


By:  Phil Bryant
Date: Feb. 13, 2013
Location: Jackson, MS

Gov. Phil Bryant announced that FEMA declared Forrest and Lamar counties disaster areas this afternoon due to severe storms and tornadoes which moved through those counties Feb. 10.

"Tuesday I requested an Expedited Disaster Declaration from the White House in order to speed recovery to those hit hardest by these tornadoes," Gov. Bryant said. "I appreciate their quick response which will ensure we are able to provide critical resources as these residents and communities begin the difficult process of recovery."

Approved in this disaster declaration are:

-Individual Assistance- Grants to individuals and households.
-Public Assistance:
Category A- Debris removal.
Category B- Emergency Protective Measures.
-Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, this program provides grants for actions that reduce the risk to life and property from natural hazards.

Joint Preliminary Damage Assessment Teams made up of MEMA, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration and local officials are surveying additional damages in other counties to be considered for additional federal disaster assistance.

Anyone with damages in these counties may apply by going to or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The speech or hearing impaired may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.