Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Congresswoman Jenkins Receives National Wheat Advocate Award

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) presented Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins with The Wheat Advocate Award this week. The Wheat Advocate Award is given annually to members of Congress who have demonstrated exemplary support for the wheat industry.

"The Kansas Association of Wheat Growers is proud to recognize Congresswoman Jenkins for her leadership and dedication to the wheat industry," said incoming president of the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, Gary Millershaski. "Even in the challenging political environment, the congresswoman has been a champion for issues that matter to Kansas farmers."

Kansas has approximately 28,500 wheat farmers, and according to the National Agricultural Statistics Service, Kansas accounts for nearly 20 percent of all U.S. wheat production. Kansas produces more wheat than any other state, and in 2011, the Kansas Second Congressional District produced 11 million bushels of wheat alone.

"The number of rural lawmakers is dwindling, so it is more important than ever that members of Congress who represent farmers are vocal and active. The farm bill has been a challenge this past year, but I have done everything in my power to move it forward, and I will continue to do so this year," said Congresswoman Jenkins. "As one of a very few Members of Congress who actually grew up on a farm, I hold the interests of Kansas farmers near and dear to my heart. I am also focused on advocating for free trade agreements to open new markets for farmers, and worked to protect family farms from the estate tax this past year."

To learn more about the congressional NAWG awards, including more about past winners, visit

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top