Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Lipinski Announces Service Academy Nominees

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Rep. Dan Lipinski (IL-3) announced today that he is nominating 16 high school seniors from the 3rd Congressional District for admission to the U.S. Service Academies for the entering classes of 2013. The nominees were recognized by Lipinski for their achievement at a recent ceremony at the Chicago Public Library in the Garfield Ridge community.

"I am extremely proud to nominate these young men and women for our country's prestigious service academies. Each year, my office receives hundreds of applications from students requesting to be nominated. These nominees were judged by the strictest criteria that took into consideration all of their high school activities and accomplishments," Lipinski said. "Just to be nominated to one of our nation's service academies is an honor. I am confident that each of these nominees will make major contributions no matter what path they take in life. They have already demonstrated a commitment to their community and country, and have shown a desire to serve others."
The nominees are:

U.S. Air Force Academy: Aaron Brown, of LaGrange Park, Lyons Township High School; Mark John Cavaleri Jr., of Hickory Hills, Amos Alonzo Stagg High School; James Chamberlin, Ellsworth Air Force Base, Ellsworth, S.D.; Kevin Goosherst, of Chicago, St. Rita High School; Brett Heimerdinger, of LaGrange, Lyons Township High School.

U.S. Military Academy: Jordan Daniel Douglas Carbol, of Chicago, Brother Rice High School; David B. Jackson Jr., of Chicago, Brother Rice High School; Nicholas Scott Paneral, of Berwyn, St. Laurence High School.

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy: Zachary Maderak, of Chicago, St. Rita High School.

U.S. Naval Academy: Raymond Antos, of Riverside, Riverside Brookfield High School; Daniel Drew, of Chicago, Marist High School; Daniel Joseph Hecker, of Burbank, St. Laurence High School; True Merrit, of LaGrange Park, Lyons Township High School; Mark Milavickas, of Hickory Hills, St. Laurence High School; Kevin Moss, of Tinley Park, Marist High School; Ryan Speir, of Burr Ridge, Lyons Township High School.
The admissions departments of the service academies make the final decision on acceptance. Each of the nominees will be notified by the service academies in January if they have been accepted.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top