Runyan Strongly Urges FEMA to Add Burlington County to Hurricane Sandy Disaster List


By:  Jon Runyan
Date: Oct. 31, 2012
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ

Today, Congressman Jon Runyan wrote the Federal Emergency Management Agency requesting that Burlington County, New Jersey be given a disaster declaration. Burlington County Freeholder Director Bruce Garganio and other elected officials support the Congressman's request for a federal disaster declaration, which would make Burlington County businesses and individuals eligible for federal assistance.

"I was very pleased to see Ocean County given a disaster declaration, but Burlington County has also sustained widespread damages due to Hurricane Sandy and needs a disaster declaration as well," said Runyan. "FEMA must act to act as soon as possible to declare Burlington County a disaster zone so that the resources of the federal government are available to assist Burlington County residents."

On Sunday the President declared Atlantic, Ocean, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, and Monmouth disaster areas, making federal funds immediately available. Last year when Hurricane Irene struck New Jersey Burlington County initially did not get a disaster declaration but later earned one after the damages were fully assessed.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.