Lautenberg, Menendez Announce All New Jersey Residents Eligible to Apply for Federal Aid

Press Release

By:  Bob Menendez Frank Lautenberg
Date: Nov. 5, 2012
Location: Newark, NJ

U.S. Senators Frank R. Lautenberg (D-NJ) and Robert Menendez (D-NJ) today applauded President Obama for including all New Jersey counties in the federal disaster declaration for individual assistance. With today's announcement, residents of all 21 New Jersey counties are now eligible to apply for federal aid, including temporary housing, federal grants, and low-interest loans to help cover the cost of repairs to residences and personal property.

"President Obama and FEMA are taking an important step to help all New Jerseyans by expanding the disaster declaration to include every county in our state," said Lautenberg, Vice Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security, which funds disaster relief programs. "Every New Jerseyan impacted by Superstorm Sandy is now eligible to apply for federal aid that can help rebuild their lives. Everyone who has been impacted by the storm should call 1 800 621 FEMA to find out what federal aid is available and apply for help now."

"All New Jerseyans affected and displaced by Hurricane Sandy should have access to the grants and assistance FEMA has to offer. Today, the Obama administration took the necessary and appropriate action to ensure that this is the case and I applaud their efforts," said Menendez. "I am hearing the plight of New Jerseyans from across the state and it's my hope that they will take advantage of these federal resources in the weeks and months of recovery ahead. Together, we'll overcome this and rebuild a better, stronger Garden State."

Previously, all 21 New Jersey counties had been included in the federal disaster declaration for public assistance, making the entire state eligible for emergency federal funding to reimburse local governments for recovery and rebuilding programs.

To apply for individual assistance, New Jerseyans impacted by Superstorm Sandy should go to or call 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). The website consolidates the application process across several federal agencies, shortens the time it takes to apply, and allows you to check the progress of your applications online.

In the wake of the storm, after eight New Jersey counties initially received the disaster declaration, Senators Lautenberg and Menendez requested that additional New Jersey counties be included in the disaster declaration.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.