Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Sessions Leads Effort to Honor Wildlife Refuges


Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL), a member of the Environment and Public Works Committee and Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Water and Wildlife, led a bipartisan effort in the Senate to pass a resolution supporting the National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) System and designating this week as "National Wildlife Refuge Week." Remarking on this Senate resolution, Senator Sessions stated:

"Since the administration of President Theodore Roosevelt, wildlife refuges have been a centerpiece of our nation's conservation program. Alabama's first national wildlife refuge--Wheeler NWR along the Tennessee River in North Alabama--was established in 1938, and today, our state boasts nine other outstanding refuges including Bon Secour NWR, Cahaba River NWR, Choctaw NWR, Eufaula NWR, Fern Cave NWR, Key Cave NWR, Mountain Longleaf NWR, Sauta Cave NWR, and Watercress Darter NWR. Conservation of these areas is important to Alabamians today and will be of even greater significance to our children and grandchildren. My firm belief is that we need to be good stewards of the abundant natural resources with which we have been blessed. These refuges help us do that. They also support hunting, fishing, tourism, recreation, and other economic activities that support our state's economy. I am glad the Senate recognizes the national treasures we share in these places."

Sessions led the effort to enact this resolution with Senators Chris Coons (D-DE) and Water and Wildlife Subcommittee Chairman Ben Cardin (D-MD). Other cosponsors include Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Patty Murray (D-WA), Joe Lieberman (I-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Mark Udall (D-CO), Tom Udall (D-NM), Scott Brown (R-MA), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), John Kerry (D-MA), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Mark Pryor (D-AR), and Susan Collins (R-ME). The resolution, S. Res. 580, passed the Senate unanimously on September 22, 2012.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top