Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Hagan Comments on USDA Disaster Designation for 12 NC Counties

Press Release

Location: Greensboro, NC

U.S. Senator Kay Hagan today commented on U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack's decision to issue agriculture disaster designations for 12 North Carolina counties that suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding from May 14-16, 2012.

"Farmers and producers in North Carolina who suffered significant crop losses this spring now have access to federal assistance," said Hagan. "I applaud Secretary Vilsack for providing much needed aid to help our farmers recover."

Secretary Vilsack issued designations for the primary counties of Davidson and Yadkin. Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell, Montgomery, Randolph, Rowan, Stanly, Surry and Wilkes.

Farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top