Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Letter to Chairman Dave Camp and Representative Pat Tiberi

Rep. Todd Rokita today joined a group of 50 freshman Republican members in sending a letter to Chairman Dave Camp of the House Ways and Means Committee and Rep. Pat Tiberi, who serves as chairman of the Subcommittee on Select Revenue. In the letter, the freshman members applaud the Committee for analyzing expired and soon-to-expire tax provisions and urge them to continue evaluating these measures in a fiscally responsible manner while working toward comprehensive tax reform.

"In order to lay the groundwork for full, comprehensive tax reform next year, we need to provide certainty for job creators and families by extending current expiring provisions," said Rokita. "This will allow us to tackle a full overhaul of the tax code rather than rushing through piecemeal changes at the end of this year."

A copy of the letter is attached. In the letter, the freshman GOP members wrote:

"We are cognizant that many businesses and families have planned their operations or budgets around existing tax incentives.

"Therefore, while we may not agree on the merits of each and every extender, we are advocating for an appropriate and fiscally responsible transition period to prevent any negative economic impacts. We also are concerned with our nation's economic condition, and we believe that this should be considered when discussing extending certain expired or expiring tax breaks."

The House Ways and Means Committee is expected to work on a tax "extenders" package later this year. The group of freshmen sent this letter because they believe that extending certain tax provisions until Congress tackles comprehensive tax reform will provide needed stability for businesses and families.

List of coauthors: Reid Ribble (WI), Marlin Stutzman (IN), Richard Hanna (NY), Tim Scott (SC), Mike Kelly (PA), Todd Rokita (IN), Tim Griffin (AR), Joe Heck (NV), David Rivera (FL), Steve Southerland (FL), Dan Benishek (MI), Tom Marino (PA), Larry Bucshon (IN), Todd Young (IN), Allen West (FL) , Scott Tipton (CO), Randy Hultgren (IL), Alan Nunnelee (MS), Ann Marie Buerkle (NY), Kevin Yoder (KS), Bill Huizenga (MI), Steve Womack (AR), Robert Dold (IL), Jim Renacci (OH), Stevan Pearce (NM), Steve Stivers (OH), Mark Amodei (NV), Michael Grimm (NY), Mike Fitzpatrick (PA), Chip Cravaack (MN), Dennis Ross (FL), Bill Johnson (OH), Morgan Griffith (VA), Adam Kinzinger (IL), Billy Long (MO), Chris Gibson (NY), Sandy Adams (FL), Richard Nugent (FL), Steven Palazzo (MS), Jeff Denham (CA), Nan Hayworth (NY), David Schwiekert (AZ), David McKinley (WV), Bob Gibbs (OH), Cory Gardner (CO), Tim Walberg (MI), Martha Roby (AL), Mo Brooks (AL), James Lankford (OK), Bob Turner (NY)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top