Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Congressman Carney Recognized For Commitment To Bipartisan Deficit Reduction Plan

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Congressman John Carney (D-DE) yesterday received the 2012 Paul E. Tsongas Economic Patriot Award for his commitment to implementing a bipartisan federal deficit reduction plan. The award was presented by the Concord Coalition, a nonpartisan, grassroots organization dedicated to fiscal responsibility.

"I'm honored to be recognized by the Concord Coalition for my efforts to bring fiscal responsibility to Washington," said Congressman Carney. "Since taking office, I've been calling for a balanced, fair, and comprehensive agreement that uses spending cuts and revenue increases to reduce the federal debt by approximately $4 trillion over the next 10 years."

Congressman Carney was one of 38 U.S. House members to receive the award for supporting the Cooper-LaTourette budget proposal. The Cooper-LaTourette proposal was based on the framework established by the Bowles-Simpson Commission and was the only budget plan voted on in the House this year to receive bipartisan support.

"I was disappointed that the Cooper-LaTourette budget received just 38 votes in the House," added Congressman Carney. "It shows how much work needs to be done before a bipartisan plan can be enacted into law. It's time to move beyond politics. We need an approach that preserves critical investments in America's future without undermining the fragile economic recovery. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the difficult but important work of putting our nation back on sound financial footing.

The awards were presented at a reception marking the Concord Coalition's 20th anniversary.

"We honored Democratic and Republican House members this year who put the national interest above political partisanship," said Robert L. Bixby, Executive Director of the Concord Coalition. "Instead of pursuing a narrow agenda, Congressman Carney put everything on the table, made tough choices and supported a plan that puts the United States on a more responsible and sustainable course -- one that would protect our nation's strength and shield future generations of Americans from crippling national debt. That is what political leadership is all about. The Concord Coalition salutes the courage it took for Congressman Carney to vote for this plan in the face of strong opposition from colleagues and a wide range of powerful special interests. We will need more such courage and leadership in the months and years ahead. "

The full list of honorees includes: Rob Andrews (D-NJ), Charlie Bass (R-NH), Dan Boren (D-OK), Leonard Boswell (D-IA), Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY), John Carney (D-DE), James Clyburn (D-SC), Jim Cooper (D-TN), Jim Costa (D-CA), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Charlie Dent (R-PA), Bob Dold (R-IL), Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Chris Gibson R-NY), Jim Himes (D-CT), Tim Johnson (R-IL), Ron Kind (R-WI), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Cynthia Marie Lummis (R-WY), Pat Meehan (R-PA), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Collin Peterson (D-MN), Tom Petri (R-WI), Todd Platts (R-PA), Jared Polis (D-CO), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Tom Reed, (R-NY), Kurt Schrader (D-OR), Allyson Schwartz (D-PA), John Shimkus (R-IL), Heath Shuler (D-NC), Mike Simpson (R-ID), Pete Visclosky (D-IN), Mel Watt (D-NC), Frank Wolf (R-VA), Don Young (R-AK)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top