Senate Passes Bill Realigning Judicial Divisions for Northern District of Mississippi

Press Release

By:  Thad Cochran Roger Wicker
Date: Sept. 24, 2012
Location: Unknown

The Senate has approved legislation supported by U.S. Senators Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) that will realign the federal judicial boundaries for the Northern District of Mississippi, condensing the existing four divisions into three.

Early Saturday morning, the Senate by unanimous consent approved the Divisional Realignment Act of 2012 (HR.5512), a measure to redraw federal judicial divisions in the Northern District of Mississippi and the Eastern District of Missouri. The legislation can now be referred to the President for his consideration.

"Realigning these divisions is designed to improve the overall operation of the federal judiciary in Mississippi. It should equalize caseload levels, aid jurors and attorneys, and increase the efficient use of our court facilities. These changes are supported by the judicial and legal community, and I'm glad that this measure will be sent to the White House," Cochran said.

"This bipartisan legislation will help update federal judicial boundaries to serve North Mississippians better," said Wicker. "Efforts like this one to make government more efficient are essential. This is a step in that direction."

Cochran and Wicker cosponsored S.3293, the Senate companion legislation to HR.5512. The House measure was introduced by Congressman Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.) and cosponsored by Congressmen Alan Nunnelee (R-Miss.) and Gregg Harper (R-Miss.). The House of Representatives approved HR.5512 on May 30.

The legislation defines the three new divisions for the Northern District of Mississippi, including the:
* Aberdeen Division encompassing Alcorn, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Prentiss, Tishomingo, Webster, and Winston counties.
* Oxford Division incorporating Benton, Calhoun, DeSoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Pontotoc, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica, Union, and Yalobusha counties.
* Greenville Division including Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Leflore, Montgomery, Sunflower, and Washington counties.

Incorporating the eight counties in the current Delta Division into the three new divisions reflects the fact that there is no longer an active federal courthouse in Clarksdale. The realignment is supported by judges in the Northern District, the Fifth Judicial Circuit and the U.S. Attorney for the Northern District.

The new boundaries would take effect 60 days after enactment of the law.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »