Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Support Growing for Heinrich's Online Privacy Bill

Press Release

Location: Albuquerque, NM

Today, U.S. Representative Martin Heinrich (NM-1) announced that robust support is growing for his bill to protect constituents' online privacy known as the Password Protection Act (H.R. 5684). The bill, which Rep. Heinrich introduced in May, now has 54 cosponsors in the U.S. House of Representatives and has been endorsed by multiple public advocacy organizations.

"No one should have to sacrifice their privacy in order to secure or keep a job," said Rep. Heinrich. "I'm pleased to see the bill is gaining legislative steam and that my colleagues are embracing the importance of providing additional online protections for our constituents."

The Password Protection Act would curb the growing practice of employers requiring employees to provide access to password-protected accounts. Specifically, the bill would enhance current law to ensure that compelling or coercing employees into providing access to their own private systems and data--including social networking sites, online email accounts, or personal data storage systems--is prohibited

The bill has been endorsed by US PIRG, Public Citizen, National Consumers League, The Application, Developers Alliance, AccessNow, Progressive Change Campaign Committee, Consumers Union and Consumer Federation of America

The 54 members who have now joined Rep. Heinrich as cosponsors of H.R. 5684 are Representatives Ed Perlmutter (CO-7), Ben Ray Luján (NM-3), Bobby Rush (IL-1), Jim Cooper (TN-5), Lois Capps (CA-23), Larry Kissell (NC-8), David Cicilline (RI-1), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), John Lewis (GA-5), Steven Rothman (NJ-9), Adam Schiff (CA-29), Charlie Rangel (NY-15), James McGovern (MA-03), Betty McCollum (MN-4), Alcee Hastings (FL-23), Tim Ryan (OH-17), Jesse Jackson, Jr. (IL-2), Loretta Sanchez (CA-47), Charles Gonzalez (TX-20), Susan Davis (CA-53), Jim Himes (CT-4), Joe Courtney (CT-2), Sander Levin (MI-12), Dan Lipinski (IL-3), Steve Cohen (TN-9), Peter DeFazio (OR-4), Kurt Schrader (OR-5), Gerald Connolly (VA-11), Gary Peters (MI-9), William Keating (MA-10), Keith Ellison (MN-5), Andre Carson (IN-7), John Garamendi (CA-10), Bruce Braley (IA-1), Chellie Pingree (MA-1), Chris Murphy (CT-5), Rush Holt (NJ-12), Jackie Speier (CA-12), Maurice Hinchey (NY-22), Janice Hahn (CA-36), Laura Richardson (CA-37), Gregory Meeks (NY-6), Raúl Grijalva (AZ-7), Jerry McNerney (CA-11), Peter Welch (VA-AL), Niki Tsongas (MA-5), John Carney (DE-AL), Cedric Richmond (LA-2), John Yarmuth (KY-3), Ted Deutch (FL-19), Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), Betty Sutton (OH-13), Hansen Clarke (MI-13) and Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top