Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Gov. Beshear Announces More Kentucky Counties Designated as Drought Disaster Areas by U.S. Agriculture Secretary

Press Release

Location: Frankfort, KY

Governor Steve Beshear today announced more Kentucky counties have been classified as drought disaster areas by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.


After a similar declaration last month and earlier this month, Kentucky now has 116* counties as either primary or contiguous disaster areas due to drought.

"We are pleased that Sec. Vilsack has issued this disaster designation for the benefit of additional farm families in Kentucky. While some areas have seen rain in recent weeks, it did not arrive in time to mitigate agricultural losses in these counties," said Gov. Beshear. "The widespread impact this drought has had on the Commonwealth can be seen in that 97 percent of the state is covered by a disaster designation. I appreciate Sec. Vilsack's continued support of our farm families."

To date, USDA has designated 1,792 counties as disaster areas--1,670 due to drought.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top